Rick: Rick (The Doctor) Fawcett
Calgary, AB
Joined
January 15th, 2005 - 12 years ago (8,807 logins)Last Login1 weeks ago
Found by
Sheer Fate
My name is Rick. I live in Calgary. I used to live in Japan. When I was in Japan I had the time and monetary resources to build a considerable collection of Oakley items (mostly glasses and watches). Now that I am back in Calgary, I have little of either. I still collect the odd pair here and there, but the glory days are over. I recently parted with the vast majority of my collection. I am now being much more discerning in what I purchase, and I am particularly intrigued by the Ferrari collection. I was an attendee at the Co-Pilot event in 2009 and I recently attended a meet up at 1 Icon with a number of O-Reviewers who have been here since the start.


PW on a plane

Kia

Why They Call Me Doctor J

O-Review Gascan 2

O-Review Gascan

Jose's Bank

Garage2

Garage Mahal

Eyewear
13

Watches
1

Footwear
0

Apparel
0

Accessories
0

Collection
14
3Y
Aug 14, 2014 2:03 AM
$4500
3Y
Aug 13, 2014 11:15 PM
The value of this website just keeps going up and up!
3Y
Jul 10, 2014 4:49 AM
Of course.
3Y
Jul 10, 2014 3:53 AM
I may make a brief appearance. It will be good for everyone to see me.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Thanks guys. It's nice to get such a warm welcome back. Thanks for all the positive comments. It's nice to be home again.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Great Spotlight Phil. The thing is with Phil, he puts a lot of thought into his collection and he is very long on knowledge for the product, the technology, and Oakley in general. It was great to meet Phil personally and converse with a true expert in this hobby. He grabbed my ass, but that's okay. I've been groped by worse! Seriously, great collection Phil and I look forward to meeting up with you again at some point.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Inspirational Spotlight Fred. I think you could have included more pics of your hair from the 80's but apart from that - perfect! Enjoy your month in the sun!
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Jose is the real deal y'all. His collection is killer, his passion for shoes is apparent, and his love of family is loud and clear. If you know more people like Jose, sign them up! Great read, great collection - congrats man.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
I remember Bill from when he was just a young pup, single, footloose and fancy free. He would whip around the East Coast in his little Subaru STi, but he has grown up into a fine young man. He has himself a charming fiance and his collection is top notch. He is a great contributor to this site as a whole. He is always there to give you his input, and he would go out of his way for a member without a moment of hesitation. When Dann and I first decided to add the Spotlight section to the O-Review we knew Bill would be a great collector to start with. Congrats Bill. Here's too many more years of Oakley madness!
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Like Dann said, Lee is a consumate collector. He is incredibly discerning in his additions and he is incredibly knowledgeable when it comes to Oakley's, both past and current. His collection is proof that he appreciates Oakley's uniqueness. You can be sure you have never met a more meticulous caregiver of Oakley products. I know for a fact he goes to great lengths to maintain the pristine condition of his collection. I have appreciated getting to know Lee and I have learned a lot from him over the years. I have mostly learned that his collection is museum-worthy and I am glad we all had the chance to learn more about him through this month's Collector's Spotlight. Cheers my friend.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
What can I say about Bong? Well, for startes he "ain't wrong"! Bong has amassed what has to be the most amazing collection of Wires and Watches the free world has ever seen. His passion for Oakley products runs deep. I am glad he is able to thrust his collection into the Spotlight this month, because he is a great ambassador for Oakley, as well as The Oakley Review. I enjoyed the photos and responses in your Spotlight Bong and I look forward to seeing you add to this incredible collection over the coming years.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
In addition to the stellar collection these two have built up, I have got to say that Yukio and Dawn are some of the most entertaining and humorous members we have ever seen here at the O-Review. Their responses to the Spotlight survey are proof to this fact. I often wonder what would become of myself if my wife were as passionated as I am about Oakley, but D&Y are living proof that double the passion truly is double the fun. I have always been impressed with the thought and care they put into the presentation of their collection and likewise, I have always appreciated the way they add to the overall good mood of the site. Mahalo Whores!
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
It is great to see Mike in the Spotlight. At times a collection is judged on its size, and Mike is proof that size is not the overriding factor when admiring a collection. I happen to know that Mike has put a huge amount of effort and time into building his collection and I can appreciate the calculated choices he has made over the years. His presentation of his collection is unsurpassed and the care and attention he gives to the maintenance of his collection is evident from the pictures of his "Oakley Office". Thanks for sharing Mike, and all the best to you and Ainslie.

3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Lex is the proprietor of one the most immense collections we have ever seen here at the O-Review. He has completed quite a few model lines which is testimony to have far this boy is willing to go in his pursuit of Oakley greatness. It was great to see the Spotlight shone on Lex, and I hope everyone takes a minute to really peruse his collection because he has many truly remarkable pieces that will shock and awe you! Congrats Lex.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
He needs to add some watches to his collection though! :)
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
If you are ever in an Oakley retailer and you wonder if that "other dude" dressed head to toe in Oakley is a fellow O-Reviewer, you subtly say "Dann's the Man". If he is a fellow O-Reviewer he will respond "Bong Ain't Wrong". It is our code so to speak. But, it is also a tribute to the man that brought us all together from all corners of the world. Dann started the OR website back when he had a pretty modest collection but he is now in the Oakley stratosphere. I appreciate the "vintageness" of Dann's collection. His collection is tantamount to taking an Oakley tour through the ages. He is worthy of his "The Man" status and he has been an inspiration to Oakley collectors around the world. And, he has a long beard. Very long.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
It's obvious from Tick's photos in this month's Spotlight that he has a wicked collection, but what may not be evident is the fact that he has a sense of humor that some may actually believe is semi-entertaining. Personally, I have never seen Tick joke around, but maybe that's just me. Haha! Seriously, we are very lucky to have a guy like Tick around who combines a wealth of Oakley passion with immense knowledge, a razor sharp wit, and a hilarious sense of humor. I enjoyed reading Tick's Spotlight as I am sure everyone did and I am looking forward to more interactions with Tick on the forums as well as watching his collection grow.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
It's great to see Josh in the Spotlight this month. We all know he is the master of custom cuts and he is a member that doesn't mind going the distance to help out another member. His collection is chalk full of many rare and interesting specimens and I have always enjoyed my interactions with him. Enjoy your month in the sun Josh. It is a great read.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Paul is one of the nicest guys I have ever met and I am glad to see him in the Spotlight for this month. I must say, he is way too humble when it comes to his collection. He claims to be a "lesser collector", but I don't know how he can justify that since his collection is loaded with amazing pieces, and his display is beyond reproach. I thoroughly enjoyed your survey responses Oogie as well as all your family pics. You have a great sense of humor and you are a true asset to the OR community.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
His living room is decked out like an O-Store people! Congrats on the great Spotlight Paul. Take good care of that fiance of yours, she is way hotter than you deserve!
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Simply gorgeous collection. You can tell a lot of time, love, and passion has gone into it. It doesn't surprise me that people are blown away by the photos you have selected. It is a sight to behold. Congrats my friend.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
BMCAPS send his regards as well.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
If I could offer you just one piece of advice it would be to beef up your Artist Series collection. It's looking a little scant.
3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Your passion for the "O" comes through loud and clear through your Spotlight Mark. You do epitomize the Oakley lifestyle to the utmost. Congrats on a great collection and an even greater family.


3Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
What a great Spotlight! I really appreciated the advice you offered to new collectors. Congrats Ken.
View All 4326 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2017 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2017 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2017 by their owners...or Rick.