andr3:
Hamburg
Joined
November 10th, 2018 - 2 years ago (217 logins)Last Login21 hours ago

Your latest purchase

Square Wire 2.0 Question

Eyewear
12

Watches
0

Footwear
0

Apparel
1

Accessories
3

Collection
25
2W
Mar 26, 2021 1:18 PM
Depending on whether they actually faked the Juliet nose bridge. If they did, I wouldn’t pick it up at all.

Other than that the regular pricing for x-metals would be fair, if it wasn’t a limited release (which I can pass up on).
1M
Mar 4, 2021 2:54 PM
It’s been revealed. 14 made for $14,000 each. Holy fuck:


OAKLEY SIGNS DAMIAN LILLARD TO ROSTER TO CARRY ON BASKETBALL LEGACY
DEBUTED BY LILLARD, OAKLEY RELEASES OAKLEY MUZM SERIES 1875 X METAL® EDITION AND CONTRIBUTES $140,000 TO LILLARD’S RESPECT PROGRAM
..
- Oak


Can you post a link to the press release, please? thx!
1M
Feb 13, 2021 7:50 AM
What are the differences of the various FMJs? I get it for FMJ "some_color", but what's FMJ vs. FMJ+ vs. FMJ 5.56 vs. 7.62...
3M
Dec 21, 2020 8:28 PM
Looking for a Half Jacket 1.0 Rootbeer Rubber Set.

thanks!
6M
Oct 1, 2020 8:41 PM

6M
Sep 30, 2020 5:20 PM
Answered on https://www.oakleyforum.com/threads/oakley-sunglasses-weights-cacatman.95139/post-1487562
6M
Sep 30, 2020 8:49 AM
What's the exact weight of Splice? Thanks!
8M
Aug 12, 2020 4:11 PM
measuring the lens
8M
Aug 6, 2020 4:51 PM
Cool thread. I've been wondering about this. Two follow up questions though:
- Measuring lenses w/ a vernier caliper: They are 30mm tall; maybe 29.5mm. I measured Ti Wire 2.0, Square Wire 2.0 non-SH, Square Wire 2.0 SH, and Titanium Square Wire 2.0 SH (btw. SH and non-SH lenses aren't interchangeable). Does that mean the 30mm version are .5mm taller to fulfill Australian law, or are they actually taller than 30mm? I would assume the latter if people actually notice a size difference. Can someone measure?
- How tall are the big square wire lenses then?
- What are the differences on the various revisions of Square Wire 2.0 SH?
10M
May 26, 2020 9:52 PM
Looking for Mars Crater.
Thanks.
1Y
Apr 13, 2020 1:04 PM
Woth the Eye Jackets I believe. Prior to that, it was Polaric Ellipsoid. I need to revisit the patent database though. - Dann


Yes, it'd be great if you were able to look that up. I have a pair of New Eye Jackets with superb lens clarity that we expect from Oakley. But in terms of image distortion they just feel ever so slightly off compared all other Oaks I have. I don't know if that's a New Eye Jacket thing or if somebody popped aftermarket lenses into these, which are not quite as good.
1Y
Apr 12, 2020 8:45 AM
Question on this old thread: when was XYZ optics first introduced?
1Y
Sep 1, 2019 11:51 AM
Thank Steve, that's pretty spot on. We do our best to find the 'most correct' information, but we don't ever have a direct line into the source.

As for the lenses, they're all over the place, and I still need to fix up those display pages so I can edit the entries again. - Dann

Let me know if I can help editing. It might be a good idea to add the source of information (if the database permits), so you know what to look at in case of seeming contradictions.
1Y
Aug 31, 2019 10:33 AM
I have a couple of questions and remarks on lens properties:
A) What's the source of the database information?
B) Are you sure 24K Gold Iridium [ http://o-review.com/database_detail_lens.php?ID=1076 ] got an orange (persimmon?) base lens? Looking through it (not at it), I cannot tell the difference to Gold Iridium lenses, which makes me think 24K has a the Bronze base like Gold and Tungsten.
C) Just a remark: I've noticed even the information given out by Oakley on lens properties is inconsistent. I.E. you'd find different light transmission rates and statements about which base lens is under the coating at various lens display stands in Oakley stores and on those black warranty leaflets.
1Y
Aug 6, 2019 6:18 AM
The T Wire 2.0 doesn’t have the “Titanium” stamp on the back of the bridge, which is incredibly odd since the Titanium Square Wire 2.0s did have that stamp. - Oak

You guys are just a wealth of knowledge. What? The T-Wire 2.0 is basically a Square Wire 2.0 made of titanium (w/ very slight changes to the lens size) and then they made a titanium Square Wire 2.0? That's just madness. ;) Which ones are those in the DB?
1Y
Aug 5, 2019 3:25 PM
I have yet another stoopid question (I am just made for this thread): Do T-Wire 2.0s have to have a "Titanium" imprint on the back of the nose bridge to be authentic (/ can I assume if it doesn't have it, it's a Square Wire 2.0 frame, even if it has the "Titanium" etched titanium iridium lenses and white earsocks like shown here: http://o-review.com/database_detail_colorway.php?ID=481&table_name=glasses) or are there versions w/o it?
1Y
Jul 26, 2019 9:56 PM
thanks, i appreciate the quick answer. off to watch the orange review. maybe i can learn something about oranges too
1Y
Jul 26, 2019 7:44 PM
I was wondering what makes an OO lens an OO lens? Some have a G40 base, some a gray base. They got all kinds of coatings, so what makes them OO and what does OO stand for?
thanks
2Y
Mar 18, 2019 10:14 PM
What's the top half of Splice orbitals made of? Polished aluminum or coated O-Matter maybe (coated w/ what)?

thanks
View All 19 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2021 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2021 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2021 by their owners...or Rick.