Oak: Twenty Fifty
Age: 14
Joined
January 13th, 2005 - 14 years ago (17,163 logins)Last Login1 days ago
Found by
Google.com
Oakley collector

Star Wars

General eyewear news

General eyewear news

General eyewear news

Non-Oakley Watches

Comics

Sideshow collectors

Sideshow collectors

Eyewear
300

Watches
8

Footwear
13

Apparel
33

Accessories
266

Collection
620
1D
Jun 18, 2019 10:37 PM
Welcome!
2D
Jun 17, 2019 1:00 PM
The vast majority do come with Mars graphic, but the Emerald Mars didn’t. I’m trying to remember whether the first runs of the X-metal-coloured Mars from Spring 1998 had the Mars graphic as well. My mind says “no”, but I can’t be 100% positive since I’m going off memory.
3D
Jun 17, 2019 5:10 AM
The things you can do with 3D titanium printing these days, like making a real life a Iron Man suit:



4D
Jun 15, 2019 5:57 AM
Did you know you can buy a life size, remote control replica of R2-D2 at Star Wars: Galaxy’s Edge for $25k? Apparently so:

https://www.bleedingcool.com/2019/06/14/r2-d2-is-real-and-will-only-cost-you-25k-to-own-one/



I am so glad I’m not a Star Wars fan. I would be much poorer. Then again, the Marvel addition will be up and running at Disneyworld in a couple years so I just might be poorer yet.
5D
Jun 15, 2019 1:44 AM
“The world of wearable technology is spotty, to say the least. Everyone wants accessibility without looking like a goddamn cyborg”. For most of the world this is true, but I guess the writer hadn’t talked to Oakley collectors.

Anyway, apparently Bose too has their own wireless, headphone-less sunglasses:

https://www.esquire.com/lifestyle/a28008241/bose-frames-audio-sunglasses-review-endorsement/




5D
Jun 14, 2019 11:38 PM
Another interesting development for E3 is Arcade1Up’s release of 3/4 sized replicas of arcade games like the late ‘80s and ‘90s TMNT and Capcom’s X-men games. Arcade1Up has been around for a bit but the TMNT and X-men stuff has got me interested.

https://arcade1up.com/



At 45”, it’s on the very short size, but you can get a riser for $50-60 to bring it to about 57” (traditionally arcade games are around 6 feet in height). Not sure if the value is there vs. Buying a vintage machine and cleaning it up yourself due to size difference, but it is a cool concept and has multiple games in 1 cabinet.
5D
Jun 14, 2019 10:29 PM
There wasn’t a lot that captured my attention at this year’s E3 with Sony staying away, but there were a few interesting things:

Final Fantasy 7 Remake 1st Class Edition:


Gears 5 Collector’s Edition with drone:


Doom Eternal Collector’s Edition with helmet:


Death Stranding Collector’s Edition with a weird embryo statue:
5D
Jun 14, 2019 7:24 AM
No, it’s just part of the championship celebration. They wear goggles because of the champagne flying around. It’s become a tradition in recent years for the North American sports teams to celebrate like that with goggles on.
6D
Jun 14, 2019 5:28 AM
Tonight, some of the newly minted NBA Champs, the Toronto Raptors, wore Oakley goggles for their celebration:



The MVP:

6D
Jun 14, 2019 2:11 AM
Very interesting. Willie Wonka-like.
6D
Jun 13, 2019 3:13 PM
Very interesting art!
1W
Jun 9, 2019 4:17 PM
Plus movie memorabilia has its own market, so it would make sense that anything screen wore would end up in an auction. - Dann


That’s exactly the case for this movie. The X-men prop auction occurred in late July or early August 2000 on eBay. Back then, it was normal for studios to team up with eBay to auction off screen-worn prop items for charity. I remember The Perfect Storm was the movie with the eBay auction prior to the X-men one.

Yes, the screen-worn Juliets were part of that 2000 auction and did come with an official 20th Century Fox COA stating it was screen worn. And also yes, the glasses looked exactly like it did in the movie, Ruby Quartz lenses and all.

I remember sitting in my apartment in Vancouver comparing the Ruby Juliets I bought in early July 2000 with the screen-worn Juliets pictured in the auctions, especially the lenses (since the consumer-released version was disappointing compared to the lenses on screen). Of course they looked nothing alike, but I was enamoured with the Ruby Juliet back then, being such a huge X-men fan.

Then of course there is the Prop Store sale from 14 or 15 years ago with the screen-worn Juliet that most of us on the OR missed out on and were kicking ourselves for. That Juliet, too, looked exactly like it did in the movie and had a reputable COA as well.

So when a pair comes out 18+ years after the Fox auctions and claim to be the only screen-worn Juliet, yet doesn’t look anything like what is shown in the movie, it does invite some analysis and scrutiny.

I think the reality is Oakley was a vendor for the movie but didn’t have ultimate say on what is shown onscreen. Those within the walls of HQ thought the movie’s production was going in one direction, but the studio, producers and director took a slightly different direction. It’s just one party not having a full view of the end occurrences. It is an honest mistake and no deception was intended by anyone, but the claims don’t reflect reality.
1W
Jun 9, 2019 1:08 AM
Kinda old and expected news, but the Hamilton Ventura is the watch for Men in Black: International, as it has been since the beginning:

https://www.hamiltonwatch.com/en-ca/mib-2019.html




I saw the regular quartz and the automatic in the trailers, but I don’t remember seeing the Quartz chronograph.
1W
Jun 8, 2019 11:31 PM
Yes, it’s $525 retail, but you can probably get it for sub-$400 on eBay.

In terms of frame details and aesthetics, it’s one of Dita’s more tame glasses but it wears super comfy. Like all of Dita’s stuff, the Ti used is very supple and the weight is well-balanced. There is absolutely no curve to it; the lens is either zero base or 2 base, The big attraction, of course, is the Tony Stark and MCU connection.
1W
Jun 8, 2019 10:13 PM
Inspired by the Avengers: Infinity War movie and this week’s newest footage from the new Spider-man movie, plus the opportunity of getting a pair from my regular dealer, I pulled the trigger on the Dita Flight 006:


Other things I learned about Dita glasses today:
-The Rikton - Type 402 is insane in person. Some crazy detailing on that pair. It will be my next Dita sunglass.
-The Lindstrum is awesome. Very cool subtle industrial cues to it yet retains the ability to be business casual. It will be my next ophthalmic frame.
1W
Jun 8, 2019 8:33 AM
So I have heard rumblings that the Juliet lenses in the first X-men movie were CGI’ed red rather than physically red. This is probably not the case since they had actually made physical red lenses, and it also would’ve cost a fortune to do it all CGI back 20 years ago.

Anyway, some of the pics of the real, physical Ruby Quartz lenses:

James Marsden wearing the Juliet’s for the first time during costume testing in 1999:




One of the screen-used props sold back in the day




The Juliet with the Ruby Quartz lenses displayed at Fox’s Baja Studios from many years back




A pic of the Juliets with Ruby Quartz lenses from the original X-men DVD. I couldn’t get a screen capture so I have to take a pic of the screen with my phone, which is the reason for the blurriness but rest assured the pic shows the physical red lenses:



So it is highly doubtful that any CGI went into the lenses of the Juliet specifically.
1W
Jun 6, 2019 1:45 PM
I think it was delayed because they haven't done their reshoots yet, which is shocking:

https://www.indiewire.com/2019/05/new-mutants-reshoots-explained-actors-schedules-delay-1202145589/
2W
Jun 6, 2019 2:20 AM
Hergé’s first Tintin cover art is on auction. The sky’s the limit on this one. It’s already at $1M:

https://www.bleedingcool.com/2019/06/05/first-tintin-cover-art-herge-bidding-passes-1-million/


2W
Jun 5, 2019 7:23 PM
Batman1939, this was made for you:

https://www.cbr.com/rj-arraw-the-joker-chronograph/



2W
Jun 5, 2019 4:57 PM
Any Dark Phoenix movie will fail if you don’t:
1. Develop the Cyclops/Jean Grey relationship so that people actually care about them;
2. Have a strong and charismatic lead actress playing Jean so viewers will enjoy watching her(and Cyclops as well, though Marsden was ok in the 1st X-men film).

None of the X-men movies came close to the above, so the key attraction to the story didn’t resonate. It’s like they couldn’t be bothered to lay the foundation before telling the story.
2W
Jun 5, 2019 1:30 PM
While only a few reviews in, the final X-men movie by Fox (though I suppose New Mutants is coming out eventually), Dark Phoenix, is getting pummelled by critics:

https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/dark_phoenix

It’s been quite a journey for the X-men films. I’ve been following the saga of it for over 20 years, from when 20th C. Fox officially announced they would make the X-men movie till now. I’m glad Marvel Studios will be rebooting the entire series. It may take 5+ years until that happens, but I’m glad the Fox version of it gets its rest.
2W
Jun 4, 2019 5:57 PM
I just assumed it was a Photochromic lens. Will be interesting to see what it actually is.
2W
Jun 4, 2019 2:53 PM
I don’t *think* this is a spoiler for the new Spider-Man: Far from Home movie since it’s been talked about and reported about a lot, but just in case:








SPOILER

Tony Stark’s Dita Flight 006 from the Avengers: Infinity War movie makes a return:





Dita’s My favourite eyewear brand these days, so I’m glad to see them in another MCU movie.
2W
Jun 3, 2019 10:19 PM
Welcome!
2W
Jun 3, 2019 10:19 PM
Welcome!
View All 10542 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2019 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2019 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2019 by their owners...or Rick.