Thom: Thom M
Arlington, VA
Joined
April 16th, 2007 - 12 years ago (1,794 logins)Last Login4 years ago
Found by
tony2win
I STARTED RACING MOTO-X IN THE LATE 70's. EVERY ONE OF MY BIKES HAD OAKLEY GRIPS. THEN CAME THE GOGGLES. WOW!! I WAS HOOKED. I STILL HAVE MY SECOND SET OF FROGSKINS(I LOST THE FIRST, BUT I KEPT THE BOX).

I HAD A BUDDY WHO WORKED AT A BIKE STORE AND HE WOULD GET ME DEALS ON STUFF ALL THE TIME. AFTER THE SKINS, IT WAS EWIRES, THEN M-FRAMES. THEN THE SUB-ZEROS CAME OUT. I GOT A PAIR FROM A SHOP IN N.C. IT JUST KEPT GOING FROM THERE. MY COLLECTING HAS OUT LASTED A MARRIAGE AND A FEW GIRLFRIENDS. CURRENTLY, I RACE BICYCLES AND I ONLY USE OAKLEY M-FRAMES.

I USE TO THINK I WAS THE ONLY OAK-NERD. THAT I WAS STRANGE AND BIZARRE. THEN I FOUND O-REVIEW, AND I NOW KNOW IT TRUE: I AM STRANGE AND BIZARRE, BUT IT'S OK!!!

Eyewear
146

Watches
6

Footwear
0

Apparel
3

Accessories
15

Collection
170
4Y
Apr 23, 2015 2:10 PM
I am interested in the MPH Jawbone. You still have them?
5Y
Dec 8, 2014 1:14 PM
Are you willing to sell anything and everything on your collection list? Just asking, you got a nice collection!!
5Y
Dec 5, 2014 3:46 PM
That's just it. It's not going to happen. I am not going to pay some scalper for them. I am just going to have to write them off.
5Y
Dec 5, 2014 3:33 PM
I hear you. But my point when I first started collecting Oakley's back in the 80's they were just Oakley's and if you wanted them all you had to do is go to a surf, bike, or skate shop and get them. Now, you have to sit up late refreshing your screen or stand outside a store in a different city just to maybe get your hands a pair you might like. If you don't, then you have to deal with some scalper that's trying to 1000's of dollars for them. It's not frustrating, it's just stupid.

Anyway, I didn't mean to start this discussion in this forum. I was just looking for info.
5Y
Dec 5, 2014 3:08 PM
Use to be at least you had a fighting chance. Not anymore. Either they are too expensive or too limited. I guess now they are in the hands of the scalpers.
5Y
Dec 5, 2014 2:57 PM
Well so much for that. It's part of the reason why I am starting to get tired of collecting.
5Y
Dec 5, 2014 2:40 PM
I am confused. It says they will be available online Dec 1. I keep looking, but I can't find them. What are they already sold out?
7Y
Sep 4, 2012 8:58 PM
And just one more thing to add to it and I will get off my soupbox. I am sure we are all tried of it. This article really explains a lot about the cycling culture.

http://www.cyclingnews.com/features/jorg-jaksche-doping-hypocrisy-and-a-dog-called-bella
7Y
Sep 4, 2012 6:37 PM
You can prove he doped for several reasons.

1) The UCI and WADA testing was not up to par. They use to only test for the PED's themselves. They now not only test for the PED's but for the masking agents as well. That's how they caught Frank Schleck and Alberto Contrador.

2) With that said they(the racers) could stay ahead of the testing by using masking agents or by taking smaller doses. Much the same way you use to be able to buy stuff to clean your pee for pot. Try and use that stuff now to pass a pot pee test and you will be caught real quick.

3) Several racers include Riis, Vaughter, Fignot(who died for cancer that was most likely a result of doping), Millar and many others have all come out to say the same thing. The pressure to stay in the peleton was so great, that the culture really promoted it. The UCI almost didn't care as long as the sport grew and it never grew as bid as it did when Armstrong was racing.

4) They have tested Armstrong blood from 1999 using the new methods and have found evidence of doping. Mainly the use of plasticizers that are used in I.V. bags and masking agents. If he was not doping then why does his samples have masking agents in them? The statue of limitations had also ran out so they could not really use it against him.

5) There is evidence of a cover up with the UCI with a sample from the 2001 Tour Du Swiss. And, believe me if he went before the CAS all that would have come out and could have wrecked the whole world of cycling. It is rumored that is why the former president of the UCI resigned and was replaced.

6) Finally, almost all of the second and third place finishers of the tour those years were implicated or caught doping at some point. Are you telling me that Armstrong was such a super human that only he was not doping? WOW, and neither was Barry Bonds!! And if you believe that I have a cool bridge in Brooklyn I would like to sell you.

Futhermore, when you say legal action understand what that means. The US Dept of Justice was after him for prejury. Not doping. They spent millions of $ going after several football and baseball players with very little results. It's next to impossible to really get a conviction here in the US on prejury. All, you really have to say is I did not know I was being doped. All he would have to say is the I thought the Dr's were giving me vitamin shots. So, the USJD did not want to continue for little results.

The USADA enforces codes that are set forth by the WADA which by treaty countries agreed to follow. They are not taking legal action against him. They are enforcing the code. That's why the court systems refused to here the matter or stop the USADA. The truth of the matter is the court wanted it to go before the CAS. It could have exposed a lot of corruption and issues in the sport. It also could have proved the USDJ prejury changes as well.

Sorry, I take this seriously. I have been a competive cyclingist for over 22 years and I have seen even amatuers dope and get caught. Guys who have stolen results from me. I have friends that do it for a living and it not only cost them results but income as well. Most of the time when I tell people I race they ask what PED's I use. I know they are joking, but that just it. This whole thing is making my sport look like a joke. I train hard, spent a lot of time doing it, as well as a lot of money and I am sick my sport looking like a joke.

7Y
Aug 27, 2012 6:17 PM
I had the pleasure of doing a training ride this weekend with Jememiah Bishop. For those of you who don't know, he is a former MTB national champ, has won a ton of marathon races and recently finished 3rd at the Leadville 100(a race Armstrong has won I might add). He is currently coaching Joe Dombroski who won the Baby Giro and is consider one of the US's next big hope. Jeremiah also lost a spot on the Olympic team because of rider that finished ahead of him in a world cup that was later convict of doping.

He said it best, they all doped, and Armstrong was the best of the dopers, PERIOD. What makes it so bad is that the ones that got caught could have admitted it sooner and changed the way the cycling was being ran for so long. Yet none of them did until Landis wanted revenge. Just think if Millar, Basso, or Urlich said, yeah I doped and it's because we have too to stay in the mix. We are pressured by our teams, and sponsors for results. We as racer feel that we have no choice. We need to change the sport. Just image if just one of those guys did that. The sport might have been so much different. But, no one did.

Armstrong is getting what he deserves, sorry if you don't think so, but he is. The problem is no one else is getting what they deserve.
7Y
Jul 19, 2012 11:51 PM
Hey do you get added to an achivement badge anyway?
7Y
Apr 25, 2012 4:28 PM
Where did those come from? I am a HUGE Rossi fan.
8Y
Feb 10, 2012 5:13 PM
Here is what I will tell you about U-boats. They are a nice design. I get alot of questions about them. But, the cases are soft, the straps last about a week(and then are expense to replace) and the clasps are weak. Plus the springbar they use is too weak as well. On more then one occasion the watch has fallen off my wrest causing damage. They need to use screws instead of springbars. Finally, they do not hold their value like a Breitling or a Heuer. Plain and simple. The design do because out dated because they are more of a fashion then a true classic design like the Omega, Rolex, and Breitlings. Not to mentions they are much more rugged and can take abuse. But the watch that is still the most rugged, reliable, and keeps good time is the good old Timex Iron Man. I will also say the Formex I have are pretty good too.
8Y
Feb 8, 2012 4:36 PM
Nice find!! Such a classic style. And what a bargain!! I would take that watch over the FMJ any day of the week. In ten years that watch will still hold it's value and you will be able to get it worked on. Nothing against the FMJ, but I just to see why it cost so much. But, what do I know. I just own Breitlings, TAG Hueurs, and U-boats.
8Y
Feb 7, 2012 4:29 PM
I am sorry, it's a nice watch and everything, but I fail to see why it cost so much. They price it like it's a Patek or Rolex and it's just an Oakley.
8Y
Oct 28, 2011 4:53 PM
But Seattle is cool is you cloudy days for 8 months. They say that's why they have such cool music. You have to find something to do inside for 8 months. I will say this, it is one of the most beautiful places in the US with or without the rain.
8Y
Oct 28, 2011 4:48 PM
My advice, DON"T!!!!
8Y
Sep 1, 2011 4:58 PM
Thom
8Y
Apr 15, 2011 7:14 PM
NOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8Y
Apr 15, 2011 6:41 PM
I don't think they are fakes, I think they are customs.
8Y
Apr 4, 2011 6:27 PM
That blew me away too. Especially when one went last week for only $36 and it had a Soviet pin with it as well.
8Y
Mar 16, 2011 4:22 PM
Yeah I got a reply from them and I am waiting to here back. I am not sure they still have any.
8Y
Mar 15, 2011 10:53 PM
They still have them on their site, but I can't read japanese.
8Y
Mar 15, 2011 10:25 PM
I don't even want to tell you how much I let my OTT Ruby's go for. But at least I made one member happy and another mad.
9Y
Feb 25, 2011 4:29 PM
They had Montefreos yesterday for 39.99 and various womens models as well. You just have to watch for them.
View All 111 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2020 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2020 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2020 by their owners...or Rick.