O.T.T.: James brown
November 23rd, 2004 - 13 years ago (2,572 logins)Last Login2 weeks ago






Jan 30, 2018 12:20 PM
Fred might think this is funny but wait till I turn the tables on him in his own language;-)
Dec 31, 2017 12:35 AM
Haha, I think dirt cheap means something quite different on your side of the ocean.

I noted you deftly sidestepped the financial question.

Let me buy you a beer! If nothing else it’s a return on investment given the amount of buying advice I have been able to get through your hard work.

Dec 30, 2017 10:32 PM
Cheers Dann

That’s good to know. Might kept them for display and special occasions.

I remember seeing pictures of a switch recovered from an extended stay at the bottom of a swimming pool. They looked pretty gnarly. Don’t know if it was on here though.

Nice job getting things back up and running.

Even though I wasn’t stopping by on a daily basis they way I would years ago, I still felt the absence. You put in a crazy amount of work, are you accepting PayPal donations towards running costs, beer and the odd replacement ear sock?
Dec 30, 2017 9:02 PM
It's good to see this place back up and running. I just scored myself a Mag Switch. It is used but in absolute ten out of ten condition. The seller was a collector.

Quick question, I have always kept half an eye on discussions about the fragility of the ceramic coating. When I get any used Oakleys I always give them a thorough rub down with an anti bacterial wipe and then immediately wipe down with a damp cloth to get rid of any chemical residue. I have never had any problems with this but I am a bit hesitant to do this with the switch.

I know sweat and suntan lotion are a killer. Does anyone have any advise on cleaning and general wear, maintenance?
Dec 30, 2017 2:48 PM
I figured things were done here. This is a welcome surprise.

I just scored a pair of Mag Switch and did a google search to see if, without the O Review, I could find out when they stopped production. And here we are again.

May 8, 2017 10:41 PM
Thanks for the feedback. That sold it for me.

My optician is doing me a buy one get one half price deal on some tincup carbons. Being able to come here for the advice was a real life saver. Cheers.

It means I now have two old Oakley RX frames.

One is a square wire 2.0 spring hinge.

I am pretty sure Oakley won't offer me a plano tinted lens for this frame given its age.

Can anyone tell me whether, if I can get a pair of standard replacement sunglasses lenses on eBay for a standard pair of square wire 2.0 SH, they will fit in the RX version of the frame?

Also, I am assuming it will be next to impossible to find a pair of non prescription sunglass lenses for the chop top 2.0s?

Any ideas or advice will be welcome as always.
May 4, 2017 1:00 AM
Hey guys

After a four year dry spell I picked up a fresh pair of oakleys and am now the owner of a silver/grey carbon tincan. To say I am pleased would be an understatement. However, living in Scotland as I do, I have not really had much call to use them up until this week.

Anyhoo, the next part of the story involves my choptop 2.0 RX frames. I have had them for ten years and five months and they are still going strong, even if the coating is coming off the frame in places. Unfortunately I have experienced a shift in my prescription and I need a change of lens. Given the age of the frame I don't think it would be a good idea to sink the money on fresh lenses for an old frame. As such I am in the market for a new frame.

It has to be Oakley
It has to be light (probably titanium but willing to consider all options)
It has to be full frame (my cyl wont allow for semi rimmed/rimless, unless anyone can advise differently)

As far as I am concerned my chop tops lasted this long because of the spring hinge. I had considered picking up a pair of dead stock RX whiskers but have read about how the lack of spring hinge can cause some issues in terms of longevity. I am pretty utilitarian and will not treat the frames with kid gloves. They can expect some harsh environments and a lot of one handed removals.

I know there is a debate when it comes to SH as to whether the added complexity actually presents a weak point but I am happy with my own experience.

I have had a look at the current RX lineup and I am pretty unimpressed. The only thing that catches my attention is the titanium/carbon tincup rx. The flex in the arms seems promising for me.

My main questions (finally) are:

Whether the carbon fibre weave in the arms has proven to be durable so far with all the flexing? I am concerned about it becoming frayed in years to come.

How has the hollow point hinge played out so far? Does anyone know of any issues/weaknesses I should be aware of.

Lastly, are there any recommendation for other frames? I wont re-start the whole debate about Oakley design being better prior to 2006 but I really wish I could score a dead stock pair of Titanium RX A-Wire SH (dont think they were avialable in Ti though) but that shows roughly what I am aiming for.

Any advice will be very welcome.

Cheers guys!
Apr 23, 2016 10:24 PM
I am finally in the market for a pair of RX Os. I figured I would just take one from the collection, go to my OPD and get some new lenses ordered.

Found out today that my cyl is beyond anything that Oakley can handle for their standard frames.

My question is, do Oakley offer their full range of tints and iridium coatings for their RX frames?
Mar 27, 2016 9:53 PM
I have been spending a lot of time in the swimming pool lately and was thinking about why we have not seen the O launch a pair (entire range) of swimming goggles.

Optics, rubber, a product in need of improvement. It is all there. Is Oakley staying away from this because they can't make a pair of goggles that doesn't fog after 20 laps?
Feb 16, 2016 10:04 AM
Correct me if I am wrong but I don't think Oakley have ever produced an asymmetrical (right/left) pair of shades. Obviously, if they have I wouldn't mind being enlightened! I am not including lens etchings or add-obs like the Bluetooth unit on the razr wire.

Anyway, can anyone think of a practical reason for The O to make a pair of asymmetrical shades?

I was thinking there might be some sort of activity that might require a better field of view on one side (why not just give a better field of view on both sides I know) or that might have a need to accommodate "something" on one side.

This whole thing came about when I saw a picture of Ian Brown wearing a pair of these: http://www.overstock.com/#/Clothing-Shoes/Chloe-89S-Asymmetrical-Sunglasses/707720/product.html
Dec 12, 2015 11:52 AM
I have not been here in a while but when I saw this I knew I needed to post it here: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Z2bvHrMSJA4
Jan 6, 2015 12:00 AM
Hey guys. It's been a while.

After picking up a pair of chop top 2.0 in January 2007 it looks like my prescription needs a refresh.

To be blunt, I pretty much hate the square plastic crap that is being churned out at the moment. I need a new RX frame but would like something that reminds me of the good old days around the time of the a wire 2.0 and square wire 2.0. Closest I can find at the moment is the RX whisker. Does anyone have any recommendations or should I just get a pair of o-wires from eBay?

Thanks in advance!
Jan 5, 2015 11:18 PM
Dann, it's good to be back. I took my eye off the O for a while.the review has really grown!

As for Oakley I am Still very uninspired by what is coming out but the old good stuff is as good as it always was.

I actually came by for some advice on RX frames. The site has changed quite a bit. Is there a limitation on starting new threads?

I am using a mobile device so I assume that is causing some issue.
Jan 5, 2015 10:02 PM
I have not been here for a while. I dropped past for a look and see that a new x-metal has made an appearance.

I don't know what to think! Is that plastic ?

I take it the nose bridge and rear of the ear stems are o-matter?

I assume these are the sections that need to allow some flex.

I like the styling! Its a flagship frame and I am pretty pleased that the look of it is so mad science but I am left wondering why they didn't come up with a metal solution rather than introducing a "weak link" in the form of o matter. Are there not a number of options for flexing metal options that could have done the trick here?

I know the flex couplers made for all sorts of headaches in the original x metal lineup but I just think a lot of people will read the description "x metal frame" and be very disappointed when a semi x metal frame arrives.

Or I could be wrong and it is all alloy.
Jul 30, 2013 3:18 AM
Cheers Dann! Thanks for the update.
Jul 28, 2013 3:58 PM
Thanks for the tip. Is anybody on here offering a cutting service on demand that anybody could recommend?

Dr Chop?
Jul 27, 2013 5:04 PM
What about "brands" of lenses like Z-Lens, revant and walleva available on eBay?

I need a replacement set which Oakley don't stock anymore. Does anybody have any experience with these other brands?

Impact protection? UV protection?
Jul 25, 2013 9:57 PM
I am a huge fan of the tag physics frame with the super smooth ball hinge.
Jul 25, 2013 10:39 AM
The quote was from their UK agent and was given in 2011 as follows:

F-4 Ejection Chair, authentic, £4,262.50
F-4 Ejection Chair, Mirror Polished, £5,812.50
B-52 Ejection Chair, £7,943.75

All pricing above excludes VAT and Shipping.

I really wanted the b52 seat. We bought a car instead.

I assume it will be cheaper in the states seeing as how I assume it is all made there
Jul 25, 2013 3:49 AM
Trying to catch up on the last 2 years and this thread caught my eye. I remember this type of question being asked years back and I think the majority of answers went along the lines of "Oakley or death" apart from the few more even handed answers from the likes of king philbert.

I started of on killer loops simply because the fitted an Oakley shaped hole that my budget couldn't fill.

I remember putting up a bunch of pictures of a model called the minus 99 degrees which was a really cool cousin/bastard brother of the first zeros except the arms were mounted on ball hinges.

Dann, I assume they are long gone but if you happen to have them on a drive somewhere I wouldn't mind taking a peek.

There was also a really cool pair of band mounted shades made by Adidas for water sports which were awesome (kinda like the evil eyes with interchangable arms and band) and then the pair of gold rayban aviators (gold with glass lenses and metal signature icon on the lens) that my mum got me for my 16th.

After that I scored my first pair of Os and never looked back.

Sunglasses aside there is some really cool stuff that I think fits the bill in terms of design language.

I have a porsche design tech flex rollerball pen that would look at home in foothil ranch. The lamy logo cost me less than a mcdonalds meal and has much of what I would expect from a writing instrument from Oakley.
If that isn't "heavy" enough try the old style Newton or the 800 from rot ring.

I have my eye on a braun bn10 watch that I reckon Mr Jannard would appreciate. I really think that some of the current o watches are a brushed metal take on the stuff that diesel punt out. To each their own I suppose.

Apart from some of the first leather wallets and the business card holder Oakley haven't really captured my imagination when it comes to what I put in my pocket.

These guys on the other hand have: http://www.myfireti.com/collections/omega-wallet/titanium-wallet

I saw the article about "the flask" and had to suppress a chortle. Kinda reminded me about a case study on Gucci I did at Uni where they spent a good deal of the 80s embossing anything they could with their logo and punting it on the market at stupid prices. It looks amazing and very well engineered but shooting a promo video where it gets dragged around behind a ridiculous car (don't know what kind of car it is so apologies if this offends anybody) and dropping it from a chopper pretty much proves that it is made of metal and not a lot else. I thought it would have delighted me given that i am a scottish oakley fan but it just hot a nerve.

If I want to carry liquid round in something practical with a minimalist industrial design I am pretty sure the guys at sigg can sort me out.

I don't remember the name of the ex Oakley guy that did the screwed together ring (that was awesome) but some other stuff is coming out which is pretty sweet.

Very plain but I like its purpose.


Beyond reason? Who am I to say

And finally, I am sure JJ has a healthy account at this place: http://motoart.com/seating/chairs/b-52-ejection-chair

I get their newsletter, basically just to torture myself with.

I requested pricing on their cheapest ejection seat chair and it made my head explode.

Just my tuppence worth here.
Jul 23, 2013 1:40 AM
Thanks again oak! And Dann, thanks for the warm welcome back!

Wow! Has the day to day tone on the review changed? Are people here less forward looking and (even) more nostalgic?

Fair play to them I suppose. They are a business after all. But the x-metal range was the core of what I considered Oakley to be.

I assume the phrase "Oakley has lost its way" has been used a lot round here. I reckon their way and my way just parted a while ago.

I am looking forward to trawling through the posts I missed in the last 2 or so years.
Most interesting one so far has been "why have you stopped collecting".

Very telling.

Makes me even more happy that this place exists.
Jul 23, 2013 12:33 AM
Thanks for taking the time oak! I really appreciate it.

I was around for the lux take over, elite and the initial influx of generic models.

The thing that really got me was the discontinuation of the x metals. I just assumed there would be a "WTF!!!" Thread started when that was made public.

Sad sad day. The return of the scampers should ensure that I pay over the odds for the Juliets I promised myself.

Does anyone know why the were discontinued?

Falling sales, cost of running the x metal production facility?

Jul 22, 2013 11:56 PM
Hey guys.

I have been away for quite a while. The O took a back seat for a few years in favour of kids, bills, work and other family stuff.

The sun came out in Scotland (a rare occurrence) and I reached for my trusty juliets and found they were very loose at the flex coupler and that the lenses were really showing their age. For a vintage 2004 pair I felt they had enjoyed a good run so I would send them in for a tune up and treat myself to a new pair while I was at it.

Then I found out the x metals had been discontinued a while back (I just thought that the odd time I had looked at a display cabinet in store they had just run out) I went from being a bit so so about the O to actually feeling a little anxious and depressed (strange I know).

The above led me back here!

I have looked through a lot of old threads and used the search function but I can't find the "thread of outrage" that I would have expected. I immediately thought back to the uproar when luxottica took over, warning of the day when the O would bin mad science in favour of a multitude of samey plastic frames.

And so, in the thread I started up years back, I want to ask what happened and can anyone link me to what I missed?

Thanks in advance for your patience :-)
Oct 18, 2011 1:09 AM
I am in the same boat as Greg. Not posted in a while. Just a quick one to see what you guys thought about steptoes losing their oakley account. They were really good but are now relegated to selling Nike.
Oct 17, 2011 6:18 PM
Does anyone know of it is possible to get a fresh pair of ear socks for an original eye jacket?
View All 992 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2018 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2018 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2018 by their owners...or Rick.