steveocubed: Steveocubed
Joined
November 11th, 2014 - 2 years ago (228 logins)Last Login1 years ago
1Y
Nov 28, 2015 6:40 PM
Two Slivers. Actually one Sliver F and one Sliver.



- qlr1

I'm sad they discontinued the Sliver F's so quickly :(. I actually really like the Sliver F's and especially how light they are.
1Y
Nov 28, 2015 6:20 PM
Good video(s) and getting better!
I really like how you do comparative lens views.
- flyer


Thanks Flyer! I'm glad you think they're getting better. Learning to play around with and expand on what I can do in video is fun although I'm no Dann Thombs when it comes to how clean his video quality and shots look.
1Y
Nov 28, 2015 6:19 PM
I've been wanting some of these. I just might go for them now thanks to this video. Great job! - Benjamin


Thanks man! Your encouraging words always help me in producing content!


Another fine video.
That lens might work best on a yacht in the Carribean looking at swimsuit models. Just sayin'. - flyer


Haha not sure how my girlfriend would feel about that ;-).


1Y
Nov 8, 2015 8:36 PM
And thanks again H01B3RG for letting me use your likeness :).
1Y
Nov 8, 2015 8:36 PM
Good review. I think it's a universal enough style that can be carried out with most clothes pairing (with the possible exception of when you're wearing a sports jersey).

Overall, a very "meh" product from Oakley, since it's not their speciality. Other brands like Dita present a better balanced product of that styling. They should've left the style with their other brand, Oliver Peoples. I know stuff like this and the Garage Rock represent the surf/skate cool vibe they want to re-capture that started with the Frogs back in the day, but it's really diluting the hardcore sci-fi Oakley image built in the '90s and early 2000s. Ok, so certainly that's the direction the brand is going now and far into the future, but it's a hard pill to take for some of the old timers.

For this specific release, it's akin to Lamborghini designing a minivan and styling it EXACTLY like the Dodge Grand Caravan, adding in a gimmick like a special cupholder and then releasing it as the "Lamborghini Holder". I'm sure there will be a number of those that love it, but it'd be a very confusing product all the same. - Oak

Great review. I think you pull them off the best out of all that I've seen so far. I'm pretty sure they wouldn't work as well on me, but that just comes down to personal preference. I was curious how the Latch feature would function, so thanks for showing that in a bit more detail. - Dann

Very well done review; you've captured the essence of them nicely.

...it's really diluting the hardcore sci-fi Oakley image built in the '90s and early 2000s. Ok, so certainly that's the direction the brand is going now and far into the future, but it's a hard pill to take for some of the old timers...

I find it ironic that they're trying to re-capture the sk8r vibe with a "Wayfarer". (I still have my original pair of those that I first bought to go flying in '68).

The latch mechanism itself is a very cool feature that could easily be adopted by future designs, though as an "old timer" with a vintage collection a-brewing, I NEVER HANG MY SHADES ON MY SHIRT!!!
If they're not on your face, you can lose 'em...Buy yourself a necklace, yadda, yadda... ;-)
Definitely dig the brown tortoise; they'd look cool with tungsten.

- flyer

Great video! - Benjamin

Worth saying again, great video steveocubed! - H01B3RG


Just wanted to say thanks guys for all the wonderful positive comments! Also, I actually can see where people are coming with their criticisms; still, I personally do really enjoy wearing them! (still digging how easy it is to forget they're pinned to my shirt even when I'm moving about)
1Y
Oct 29, 2015 6:41 PM
Ready to ship you off to Rio for the Olympics now. - H01B3RG



Only if it's for Competitive Sitting - Dann

Lol I'm a celebrated sitter myself
1Y
Oct 27, 2015 7:06 PM
Awesome! - Benjamin

Another great vid in the "done" pile!
You may have finally convinced me to try one.

I've yet to hear anyone address the weight of the JB.
With it's overall size, and various mechanisms, it looks weighty by comparison with, say, a Radar.
- flyer

RAD! - rich5150


I really appreciate the support guys! Haha I can almost pretty much count on you guys for awesome comments like clockwork at this point. Seriously, it's nice to get positive feedback. And Dave, I'd say the Jawbreaker is not that much weightier than the Radar (it's actually very light) but the distribution is a bit more dispersed so it actually feels like there's less pressure on any one spot than a Radar. However (and this is just according to me), it does feel less "secure" than a Radar. For cycling I think it's more than fine but I don't know about running or a bit more "jostly" physical activities.
2Y
Oct 19, 2015 11:07 PM
I know you guys have already heard from me but just want to say again, great job again guys!
2Y
Oct 18, 2015 5:49 PM
Good stuff. I pushed them to the front page so they should be visible now. - Dann

Thanks -- really appreciate everything you do man.
2Y
Oct 18, 2015 5:48 PM
Too cool. - rich5150

Great job! - Benjamin


Thanks guys for the kind words!
2Y
Oct 18, 2015 5:47 PM
Well done, SteveO3, all of 'em. - flyer

Loving your videos. Keep up the good work. - Oak


Thanks guys for the kind encouragement!
2Y
Oct 6, 2015 10:21 PM
Oakley Women Rejoice...
Violet Haze Collection
Feedback - OO4079-23

Conquest - OO4101-07

Tie Breaker - OO4108-10

Caveat - OO4054-23

Dispute - OO9233-12

- H01B3RG

Yes! I'm not really big into women's frames but this line is killer.
2Y
Oct 4, 2015 10:39 PM
I tried on the Matte Clear Triggerman w/ Torch the other night and it is nice. Definitely the colorway I'll be going with. Torch lens for the win.

Also tried on the Jade Triggerman; I thought the bottom was silver, but it's actually matte clear.

The Triggerman doesn't weigh much at all either; and it's a loose fit, even for my wide face. I can see those with slimmer faces having trouble wearing them/keeping them on.

Also tried on the Latch (not a fan).

And the Urban Jungle Holbrook... (I will be picking this colorway up)

- H01B3RG

What makes you not a fan of a Latch?
2Y
Sep 21, 2015 11:41 PM
0/10 wahoo~! (haha kidding)
2Y
Sep 15, 2015 8:53 PM
Grats man!
2Y
Sep 9, 2015 11:16 PM
Hat!
2Y
Sep 4, 2015 3:06 AM
I'm loving the lens options too.

- Dann

That Deep Water lens just looks so sweet. I'm going to have to definitely pick up a pair some time when my wallet heals haha.
2Y
Aug 26, 2015 10:30 PM
My wife gave me this for my birthday. It is a signed poster limited to 100, numbered. I was very surprised, since my wife has no understanding of my interest in Star Wars!

- pastor.elfstrom

That looks dope! Any thoughts on the new upcoming Star Wars flicks?
2Y
Aug 5, 2015 11:18 PM
Can an Asian fit Racing Jacket be retrofitted to suitability for a decidedly non-Asian face? - flyer

Yup for the Racing Jacket -- it's just the nosebombs that are different so just switch those out.
2Y
Aug 2, 2015 8:24 PM
Only one "Silver"!
:-) - flyer

Haha indeed.

Great review! - Benjamin

Thanks man! I really appreciate your support on all my videos! (insert thumbs up gif here haha)

2Y
Jul 31, 2015 8:44 PM
stevecubed... Is the Uranium Flak 2.0 custom? I love that color scheme and can't seem to find it or make it. - JP

Yup it's custom. I got the uranium frame separate from the earsocks and lenses.
2Y
Jul 30, 2015 8:34 PM
Awesome review...I need a pair now :) - andy73au

...if you have any advice or thoughts feel free to let me know.

MORE!
;-)
- flyer


Lol Dave -- I have a few filmed and just need a chunk of time to edit so there will definitely be some more coming your way ;-).

Andrew, yeah for me this was a surprising one. I wasn't too excited about this frame when they first announced it and I thought the long earsocks actually looked kind of ugly at first but they definitely help with the comfort and also give another part of the glasses that can be customized and accented which is always nice.
2Y
Jul 28, 2015 3:15 AM
That is a great review - Benjamin

Awesome, I need a pair of these soon - Dann

Great video! - rich5150


Thanks guys! This one was a lot of fun to make. I think I've also gotten down a style I like in terms of video reviewing but if you have any advice or thoughts feel free to let me know.
2Y
Jul 25, 2015 12:36 AM
Thanks guys! Yeah the matte black with ice iridium really look slick. Love the blue trimming on those.
2Y
Mar 22, 2015 2:46 PM
I can speak on behalf of the Prizm Infield Baseball, makes a difference you can pick up the smallest details in the texture of the grass/dirt! Can't wait to use them in a game situation! - ZPugsley13

Have you had a chance to compare infield vs outfield? Curious what the major differences are from people literally from the field haha.
View All 40 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2017 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2017 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2017 by their owners...or Rick.