sparra: Tim Sparrow
Norwich, UK
Joined
August 31st, 2004 - 13 years ago (2,759 logins)Last Login4 years ago
Found by
Google
Websites
I was always aware of Oakley and what a great brand it was from the age of around 10, and longed for a pair myself. Finally, after much saving and a trip to the States in 1999, I bought my first pair (Eye Jackets) aged 14. I still have them to this day, and since then the passion has increased. Though my sunglass collection is small but perfectly formed due to restricted funds, my apparel and footwear collection are pretty large and all aspects of my Oakley collection continue to grow with pride.

A little bit of info about me: I graduated from Royal Holloway, University of London with a BA (Hons) in Geography in 2005, and I'm currently working as a sailing instructor and a freelance radio producer.

Eyewear
5

Watches
1

Footwear
0

Apparel
0

Accessories
0

Collection
43
11Y
Dec 23, 2006 11:20 AM
Thank god, some laceless shoes! Phew, I thought I was going to have to switch my footwear manufacturer for a moment there.
11Y
Nov 9, 2006 11:13 PM
Sounds good to me my friend.
11Y
Oct 23, 2006 9:24 PM
I'm aiming to restart production on the podcasts from next week. So let's hear your ideas - and if you want to do anything particularly yourself - go for it!
11Y
Aug 15, 2006 8:44 PM
Couldn't agree with you more Dann. I, for one, spend far less time here these days, and I know it's the same situation for many others.
11Y
Aug 10, 2006 9:27 PM
Love the suggestions guys, keep em coming. What I'd love even more is for members to write/record these pieces too.
11Y
Aug 7, 2006 11:00 AM
No certainly not over, just waiting on fresh material. Indeed, we're probably going to start on the next one shortly. So please get your ideas and contributions in to me.
11Y
Aug 6, 2006 9:35 PM
As am I mate. Go Jenson!

Thanks to bloody work I wasn't able to watch the race live, so will have to catch the highlights this evening.

12Y
Jun 11, 2006 10:37 AM
I think that would carry quite some risk, unless it has appeared on oakley.com as a pre-order item.
12Y
Jun 9, 2006 11:05 PM
Just got my hands on the new Keane album. Brilliance, as you would expect. Four tracks really great (Atlantic, Crystal Ball, Nothing In My Way & A Bad Dream) and the rest all goodies too. Not sure if it's a better album than Hopes & Fears, but it is certainly quite a different sound. Lots of killer hooks though,

I'd go into more detail, but it might make Bong's nine more days of waiting for it even more painful!
12Y
Jun 9, 2006 11:02 PM
Dudes, now I have a moment of free time from work and I can get back to posting on the review rather than just skimming it, I can also get back to work on the podcasts. So if you have anything you want to contribute, then please do get in touch!
12Y
Jun 9, 2006 10:51 PM
Ollie, those D1s are superb. So many funky colours, I would certainly buy one.
12Y
May 17, 2006 10:18 PM
This Xbox 360 Vision Camera looks good. It will model your face to put in a game. Now what I want to know is if you wear Oakleys when taking the picture it models your face on, will it be clever enough to model them too? If it is, that'd be pretty cool. Virtual Timmy sporting his virtual Oakleys.
12Y
May 17, 2006 10:15 PM
Yeah it's a similar story with me. Just doing some random searching for Oakley fansites and reviews on particular glasses and up the O Review came. Initially I bookmarked the site and didn't pay much attention to it, but when I went back a week or so later, I realised I had stumbled on pure gold. Joined up straight away and the rest, as they say, is history.

I remember emailing Dann almost straight away about a model he had missing (a Half Jacket I think), but turns out I was being a bit too keen, the model was always there, I had just completely missed it first time around.
12Y
May 17, 2006 8:15 PM
Perhaps we could put something in the next podcast about that kind of thing.

Congrats everyone, here's to many more O Review birthdays!
12Y
May 16, 2006 1:23 PM
No trouble with a conversation moving on slightly, so long as (in the general forum) it is Oakley related. And obviously it helps if threads don't go too far from their original subject, just to keep some order. To be honest, I think the moderating team are pretty laid back when it comes to things changing subject. On many forums, the thread would be locked the moment things started going off on a tangent.
12Y
May 16, 2006 11:54 AM
For Top Spin 2, Oakley arn't in the sponsors section. You have to go to the sports shop section and then chooses Glasses from the options. There you'll find them.
12Y
May 16, 2006 10:55 AM
I hear ya Todd. I found the range in O Store London to be pretty limited compared to my OPD (who carry pretty much all the colours/styles of almost every Oakley product currently available), but the O Store does typify Oakley, and creates brand awareness in a big capital city full of tourists.

In my opinion, if an OPD is doing things right, such as carrying things you can't necessarily get at a nearby O store, offering better customer service, or selling other cool brands as well as Oakley, then they should be okay.

I do hear that OPDs are getting a bit annoyed at having to place their entire Oakley orders (in the UK at least) by quarter, rather than the smaller period it was prior to last year. Can leave them with a lot of stock to shift at below retail prices once a season is ending.
12Y
May 12, 2006 12:18 AM
Yeah that's probably a good idea Alex. Also need to check out how to call MSN from a website link, because as it's so new, I can't find anywhere doing it yet.
12Y
May 12, 2006 12:16 AM
Hehe, no worries mate, just making sure you guys hadn't forgotten!
12Y
May 11, 2006 10:41 PM
Just thought I'd remind everyone that we're still on to keep podcasting, so please send in your material, as and when you have the time to do so!
12Y
May 11, 2006 10:37 PM
As an aside, I think the new version of Windows Live Messenger added the capability to do big chats linked from a webpage. I wonder if MSN or AIM is more popular with the membership?
12Y
May 10, 2006 5:21 PM
I'm sure that I can say on behalf of all members of the moderating team that decisions regarding locking and deleting posts are never taken lightly and always have a reason behind them. We always take the time to consider our actions before carrying them out. I hope some of you can recognise this and will have a bit more faith in us. We don't enjoy being slandered for making decisions that we feel are in the interests of promoting friendly, sensible and on-topic discussion on the review.

If you have a specific problem, may I suggest you PM a moderator (I, for one, am happy to take your messages), rather than opening up a public discussion on this issue.
12Y
May 6, 2006 10:47 AM
Yeah Joe, I hear ya. But I agree with Mike and I also think that if it weren't for the high visibility of the Oakley brand on the glasses then Oakley would not be the massive company we know and love today. I think the vast majority of customers buy for the brand (as well as the look) and don't really take much notice of the quality of optics etc.

As an aside, all of us at work acknowledge our Oakley wearing habits. As sailing instructors, it seems like Oakley is compulsory eyewear! Though there is one woman (40s/50s) who seems to hate the company, and I have no idea why. Yesterday she had the cheek to p*ss-takingly say that my Gasket sandals must have been made out of recycled sunglasses! Some people...
12Y
May 6, 2006 12:48 AM
Sorry, but what's wrong with people owning Fives? If they like the style and they fit well, then they're a perfectly cool pair of Oakleys to own. Sure they're not the most expensive of models, but what should that matter?
12Y
Apr 29, 2006 10:44 AM
Heh, keep the ideas flowing Todd and I'm sure we'll be hearing your voice across the world very soon!
View All 709 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2018 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2018 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2018 by their owners...or Rick.