skull.jacket: Steve Youngman
NM, USA, NA, PE, SOL
Joined
September 14th, 2014 - 3 years ago (1,644 logins)Last Login18 minutes ago
Found by
Online Reasearch
I am just very very obsessive about a chosen few particular styles of a single brand of eyewear. Is the court-appointed psychiatrist really necessary?

AP-TFG Data Plate N3BTW Orange

AP-TFG Data Plate N3BTW Red

AP-TFG Data Plate S6BRT Red

AP-TFG Data Plate S7BSL Red

AP-TFG Data Plate Complete (Prototype)

Profile

Your latest purchase

Split Jacket 06 Mod1

Eyewear
25

Watches
0

Footwear
2

Apparel
10

Accessories
88

Collection
125
2W
Nov 4, 2017 4:19 AM
That Speedtrap is definitely a "three-way" all right ... looks like a three-way between a Jawbreaker, a Wind Jacket 2.0 and a Canteen 1.0.

Not to mention the base price isn't that far off from the actual Jawbreaker. The usual motivation to rip off Oakley design is to offer the "comparable" model at a much lower price. While I don't entertain that option, at least I understand it from a consumer perspective, where one thinks they are getting a better value for their money. Here though, the only real selling point would be it isn't an Oakley branded frame, and that's pretty much it.
3M
Aug 12, 2017 7:40 PM
Those look really sweet! Nice job! I especially like the camo.
3M
Aug 11, 2017 1:29 AM
I will give it this ... I do like how both lenses contain etching. An odd thing with Oakley's lens engraving, in the past they seem to have really liked to only etch the lower left side of the left lens, and that seemed to be as far as they would go. Some of the newer lifestyle models moved the polarized etching to the top right, which is odd placement, but it is different. But even then it's only one lens or the other, not both. I have wondered what was stopping them from just straight up etching both lenses. Say for example, putting the SE model name or logo on the right lens, and then "polarized" on the left, etc.

So this is a decent little feature. Too bad it took them this long to finally get around to doing it. But still, i'll take it.
3M
Aug 7, 2017 8:48 PM
I had to do a double-take with that first pic. Just for a second he looked like Nick Nolte.
3M
Jul 29, 2017 4:16 PM
And, success!
3M
Jul 29, 2017 4:16 PM
Sweet! Thanks!
3M
Jul 29, 2017 9:05 AM
Not quite yet. Looks like there is a small glitch that won't properly link newly created threads to the right thread category. This one only appears in the recent section and not also under General where it was created. So once a thread cycles out of recent, you won't have a way of finding it again until the glitch is fixed. Seems to only be affecting new threads tho.
3M
Jul 29, 2017 2:33 AM
This is a test of whether I can upload a new discussion thread. This is only a test. *BUUUZZZZZZZZZZZ*
6M
May 5, 2017 6:49 PM
Yeah, the Double Edge does have those small holes indicating it can have interchangeable icons (like the Turbine line). Seems like a number of models are going that way recently. Though I can't say I've seen a supply of accessory icons being sold to entice me to be swapping. - oogie


Ah, thank you. I was hoping that was the case.
6M
May 5, 2017 12:45 PM
Are the icons on the Double Edge interchangeable? I see small holes on the inside of the earstem akin to the Racing Jacket and wondering if they are made to swap. Is that a true statement or is the icon a different mounting design than i'm used to?
6M
Apr 30, 2017 9:09 PM
Welcome!
6M
Apr 30, 2017 9:07 PM
Anyone know why the new Racing Jackets never hit stores? - JP


I've been wondering that myself. My local vault keeps telling me "they're coming, they're coming", but so far nothing yet. They can't even tell me when they might show, if they show at all. Curious.
6M
Apr 27, 2017 10:11 PM
Triathlon?
6M
Apr 25, 2017 6:16 PM
Probably just because it was never entered. The lens database can be a bit frustrating since Oakley tends to publish inconsistent VLT numbers for the same lens, and the database is supposed to reflect the source material. With numbers sometimes all over the place, it can be a hassle to nail down a good number.

But just going off what is available, my guess would be:

Grey = 18%
+Red = 15%
Polar = minus 1-2% VLT (average)

+RIP = 13 to 14% VLT

That seems about right; Grey, BI & BIP have the most consistent VLT; the polarization filter (usually) only subtracts 1% to 2% VLT, and +Red is listed as 15%, which is in the general ballpark with Emerald, Jade, & Ruby (3-5% VLT).

I wouldn't enter that into the database, though. That's just my guess :)
6M
Apr 21, 2017 3:32 PM
I have been noticing a lot of inconsistencies on the main site. There's a lot of moving pieces that make a website work and every business should always pay a lot of attention to these small details as internet sales are a huge part of any business. Still, I give Oakley a pass (of sorts) on their site, as I can imagine the folks that run it probably have a lot of headache trying to keep up with every last-minute change to any given item, especially the new stuff. I bet some of them may have even learned to just not bother asking about presentation info on new products until they are given the "final" final spread to post up, and even then that may not always include the complete info.
7M
Apr 13, 2017 4:26 AM
Welcome to OR!
7M
Apr 6, 2017 2:54 PM
That is a seven-figure pic, Pastor! :D
7M
Apr 3, 2017 11:57 AM
Hello and welcome!
7M
Apr 3, 2017 11:55 AM
Welcome!
7M
Mar 27, 2017 11:23 PM
Welcome!
7M
Mar 24, 2017 1:00 AM
Welcome!
8M
Mar 11, 2017 4:14 PM
I get that a lot also, as if no one is allowed to acknowledge component compatibility. Whether they are just playing it safe so they don't get customer static if they are wrong, or if IPH genuinely doesn't distribute that information, I am not sure. But it is pretty consistent with either calling or emailing support.

Going into an actual store I find that information is a bit more forthcoming, depending on the knowledge of the employee in question.
8M
Mar 6, 2017 2:13 AM
I certainly hope these are authentic Fandangos! XD
8M
Mar 4, 2017 7:42 PM
When something hits your eyes the lenses will shatter, the screws will dig in to your temples and the nose pads will shave some cartilage. Seems like a win/win. - rsuarez1982


HA! Agreed, at least for those who for some odd reason actually want to buy Foakleys. For those that get suckered through listings like this though, it does seem pretty unfortunate. But yeah, Caveat Emptor!
8M
Mar 3, 2017 5:51 PM
Another example of just how good the fakes have become. On close inspection it becomes clear of course, but at first glance it isn't obvious. I'll bet this frame even has a passable switchlock function:


http://www.ebay.com/itm/142299403324
View All 351 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2017 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2017 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2017 by their owners...or Rick.