skull.jacket: Steve Youngman
NM, USA, NA, PE, SOL
Joined
September 14th, 2014 - 7 years ago (3,212 logins)Last Login2 hours ago
Found by
Online Reasearch
I am just very very obsessive about a chosen few particular styles of a single brand of eyewear. Is the court-appointed psychiatrist really necessary?

Office/desk chairs

Office/desk chairs

General eyewear news

General eyewear news

General eyewear news

General eyewear news

General eyewear news

Profile Skull Warning Sign

Eyewear
44

Watches
0

Footwear
8

Apparel
10

Accessories
121

Collection
183
1W
Sep 14, 2021 12:29 AM
I know there have been a lot different types of Foakley mashups, but I haven't seen anything like these before. They are pretty terrifying. I couldn't help but to stare:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/READ-Oakley-RACING-METALLIC-GREEN-RED-Sunglasses-VINTAGE-RARE-/324788846531?mkcid=16&mkevt=1&_trksid=p2349624.m46890.l49286&mkrid=711-127632-2357-0

These actually make me appreciate the Fandangos a little bit. Fandangos seem more sophisticated by comparison. I normally would drop a line like "hey, those are fake", or whatever. But I am at a loss for words on this one.
3W
Sep 3, 2021 4:00 AM
Yep, Fuse does offer lenses for the Wiretap, and their quality is pretty good for aftermarket. I have used Fuse in the past and don't have any compaints, at least for the price. If you want decent lenses now, they will do do quite well in a pinch.

If you aren't in a big rush, you could consider Ebay to find some original lenses. It doesn't look like there are many Wiretap lens listings at the moment, but patience does pervail. It just depends on how long you are willing to wait and hunt for a particular pair of lenses, like the Ice Iridium.

There may even be a few members here who might have some for sale, although I wouldn't count on it unless someone speaks up now. Vintage models like this one don't have too many loose components floating around.

If you want Oakley authenticity without the long wait, you can always have a pair custom cut from an original set. Wiretap has a failry small orbital, so finding a larger lens with the same base curve shoudn't be too difficult. It would just be a matter of finding someone with a professional hand to do the cutting, some even here on O-Review. It ends up being more expensive this way because you would first pay for the new lenses and then again for the custom cutting. But you do have the advantage of potentially picking a more modern Oakley lens vs. the few OEM options that were available for the Wiretap at the time.

So if you just want a quick restore, then Fuse is definitely the way to go. However, there are more options available the further down the rabbit hole you go. The older a model is, the less and less original parts are available, and the more compromises you might have to make. We've all been there at one time or another (and got quite carried away too). Good luck to to you!
4W
Aug 25, 2021 12:37 PM
Welcome!
1M
Aug 18, 2021 6:36 AM
Welcome!
1M
Aug 14, 2021 2:43 PM
I take it those holes are for screws or maybe pins? I would assume that means the Xeus shouldn't experience the same mounting issues as did the Kato.
1M
Aug 4, 2021 10:17 PM
Welcome!
1M
Aug 3, 2021 12:40 PM
Welcome to O-Review, Michael!
1M
Aug 1, 2021 6:33 PM
This one is very intriguing! There is quite a bit going on with this design, maybe a little bit too much going on all at once. I think it kinda muddles the overall look, although that just might be this particular colorway choice. Regardless, it proves the wheels are still turning over there at One Icon, and I would be very interested in seeing some more colorway variations, perhaps a dual Iridium combo like the EV Zero. It kinda sucks this will be a limited release, but I hope that won't automatically preempt a potential future release, or at least a variation of this from eventually coming out. I mean, Oakley did release the Kato and to me the Kato looked like it had "limited" written all over it. This is pretty exciting!
2M
Jul 6, 2021 4:25 PM
This one may look ugly as sin, but I can totally see this one being super comfortable. As long as the orbital portion doesn't sit too forward heavy on the nose it could be a winner, fit-wise.
2M
Jul 6, 2021 4:22 PM
Wow, that took me a minute to see the two-tone finish. I thought it was that CGI shine they sometimes gloss on the image.
2M
Jul 6, 2021 4:15 PM
Welcome!
2M
Jul 6, 2021 4:14 PM
Looks like it might be reusing the Clifden lens? Maybe just deceptively similar, but it would be that much better if it was the same lens.
2M
Jul 1, 2021 8:21 PM

Peel again.

Hahaha difficult. Challenge again. - O_taj1242


I take it that's the same Kato as before?
2M
Jun 26, 2021 12:55 AM
Welcome, lurker! Good to have you!
3M
May 25, 2021 10:26 PM
Welcome!
4M
May 14, 2021 10:06 PM
Hey! Great into! Welcome, and good to have you.
5M
Apr 14, 2021 7:51 PM
Welcome!
5M
Apr 6, 2021 9:10 PM
Hello and welcome!
5M
Apr 6, 2021 8:27 PM
I haven't seen the Hannibal until just now, but it looks pretty sweet. The switchlock function reminds me a bit of the ESS Rollbar. And those recessed molded icons ... that's actually a good idea for an SI model.
5M
Apr 1, 2021 12:36 PM
Welcome!
5M
Mar 31, 2021 5:48 AM
Welcome!
6M
Mar 22, 2021 7:23 AM
Welcome!
6M
Mar 19, 2021 3:53 PM
Digital old school cool!
6M
Mar 19, 2021 3:51 PM
Welcome!
7M
Feb 11, 2021 3:00 AM
Welcome!
View All 579 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2021 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2021 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2021 by their owners...or Rick.