ford: Ford .
Perth, West Australia
Joined
September 3rd, 2004 - 16 years ago (3,210 logins)Last Login1 months ago
Found by
Googling for Chop Top 6.0
My Oakley interest and desire does not currently sit on par with my income level (one is less than the other - you decide which is where).

My friends think I'm crazy, but that is nothing compared to everyone else here (I mean that complimentary).

I got into Oakley at the start of the year 2000. A guy at high school had a pair of black Fives and he was telling me how Oakley were the best sunglasses. He brought in his Oakley catalogue (the 1999 catalogue) and I saw for the first time the Romeo and the Juliet. I was completely and utterly hooked.

Then, M:i-2 and X-Men hit, and the Ruby Juliet debuted. Oakleys were definitley getting cooler by the minute.

I went to a local surf shop that was selling their old Oakley stock at half price, so I begged my mum to get me a pair of Black Iridium Eye Jackets for AU $90. It was all downhill from there.

Everyone at school had Oakleys. Most of the girls had Minutes, and some guys did too. A few guys had Fives, but I was the only guy with Eye Jackets.

But then Oakley brought out the Twenty. The FMJ/Ice pair was all the rage for me, so I decided to get rid of the EJ's and invest in some Twentys. I was spending a lot of time on ebay browing the Juliet auctions. A local optometrist had a 20% off sale, and I went in planning to get the Ice Twenty, but walked out with the Ice Juliets!

I found the o-review with four pairs of Oakleys. (Ice Juliet, Black Juliet, Black Splice, Ruby Twenty). If you check out my collection now you will see the damage this place has done! I love it.

X-Metal Serial List

X-Metal Serial List

X-Metal Serial List

X-Metal Serial List

X-Metal Serial List

X-Metal Serial List

X-Metal Serial List

X-Metal Serial List

Eyewear
0

Watches
0

Footwear
0

Apparel
0

Accessories
0

Collection
49
1M
Aug 14, 2020 2:25 PM
Do you use the cologne and keep the empty bottles, or not spray at all?
1M
Aug 14, 2020 2:15 PM
That’s really cool they have that, I was heartbroken when I saw what they did to the London store - Nortika


What did they do to the London O-store?
4M
May 21, 2020 7:31 AM
Now let's get a Royal Oak with the Oakley logo on the dial!
4M
May 21, 2020 7:27 AM
Some good 4K vision of him wearing the Mars at the '98 celebration. I assume it's the first time footage of him wearing them has been seen in HD - -everything from the time would have been shot on tape, eh?
4M
May 18, 2020 9:23 AM
Okay, according to this post at the Oakley Forum, Oakley did start engraving J serials on the next generation of X-metal/Ruby Juliets after the X series.
4M
May 18, 2020 5:58 AM
Any idea what's going on with these X-metal Ruby Juliets?

J###### serial, but has what looks like an official Oakley sticker, with SKU 04-116 which is for the Xmetal/Ruby colourway - but consensus is those came with X###### serials.

Unless it's just a X-metal/Black Iridium frame and someone put in Ruby lenses, and then printed a very authentic looking product sticker...? Fair bit of effort to scam someone. Or Oakley used leftover Xmetal/BI frames and put in Ruby lenses themselves?




https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Mint-Oakley-X-Metal-Ruby-Iridium-Juliet-Sunglasses-Serial-J133450/114181068752

Purchased from Oakley directly.
100% authentic - Mint condition
Have been on display but never worn.
Pictures are of the actual glasses you will receive.
Everything in pictures are included, if you want a picture at a certain angle, just ask.
Serial Number - J133450 (pictured)










(images backup: https://imgur.com/a/NNaHagU)
4M
May 9, 2020 10:34 AM
Such a small one Dann, but I noticed it nonetheless. Ryan Arbabi one-off serial is five numerals, not six. Ryan said he most likely entered the serial in wrong on his collection page.

http://www.o-review.com/forum_detail.php?ID=11867

4M
May 8, 2020 5:28 AM
For those following this thread closely, no, you weren’t seeing things with the 12-580. The 12-580 was indeed previously entered in the DB as “Polished Black/Ruby Iridium” (as well as the current “Jet Black/Ruby Iridium”), but it was removed recently. Not sure who did it, but maybe it’s for the best; the “Polished Black/Ruby Iridium” box label is rarely seen and the prevailing theory amongst collectors for many years is that Oakley switched over from Polished Black to Jet Black very early on in its run. - Oak


Interesting Oak. Makes me wonder what the different is between Jet Black and Polished Black, if any...?
4M
May 7, 2020 2:01 AM
I guess I have the Canadian one and now need to find a polished black one.


- SiRacer420


I also had the Jet Black/Ruby in Australia. The database here also only has Jet Black/Ruby, no Polished Black/Ruby listed.
2Y
Aug 27, 2018 7:58 AM
I also collect player issue guernseys of my football team here in Aus...player issues obviously being guernseys made for the actual player. They sublimate the number on the back (the number is printed onto the fabric like the sponsor logos, not added on afterwards), so you can tell player issues quite easily.

I've made a website of my collection here:

Crown Jewel would have to be the 2000 Away Number 10 - the design that got me interested in guernseys in the first place. The design is actually reviled by most West Coast Eagle fans, but I love it.

Holy Grail is a 1997 Away player issue, never seen one come up on eBay, and it's basically the only design left that I haven't got.

There's a few collectors out there for this specific team so it drives prices up on eBay, really annoying as it used to be only me back in 2004-2005!
5Y
Jul 4, 2015 4:39 AM
Mike any idea on the Aus RRP of the Tumbler?
5Y
Jul 4, 2015 4:27 AM
I used to post on the View Askew Board back in 1998-2001 (Kevin Smith's website and message board) and there was a prolific poster there called DJ_Andy (later changed his screenname to DJ_Andeeeeee and such). I remember his email address was shampooisbetta@hotmail.com.

Anyway, he used to post occasional things linking to his website, and I think one particular post was webcam shots of him acting like a little kid (because of his babyface) and it was quite funny (unfortunately I can't remember the gist of his post) but I think that got noticed by Jimmy Kimmel's people and he started doing bits for the show.

So yeah, DJ_Andy on the ViewAskew Board was Andy Milonakis.

5Y
Apr 27, 2015 3:02 AM
Shipping to Perth Australia from amazon.ca is CDN $49.37 - $10 less than the book itself!
5Y
Mar 2, 2015 9:07 AM
Great shots Francois. Your dad looks super French!
5Y
Mar 1, 2015 8:24 AM
Hello to everyone, been a while since I logged in here!

I was great to catch up with Mike, Brian and Andy at the O Store. The Madman is something else, very interesting design, to me very much Mars 2.0. The guys said it suited me and I should get a pair....$400 aint cheap though!
6Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
The Doc is (back) in the building!

I can dig it.
7Y
Nov 14, 2012 6:57 AM
Haha awesome, love that Chewbacca shot, plus glad we got the Eiffel Tower in there too!
7Y
Nov 5, 2012 9:28 AM
Yeah I'd love to see the 41.5mm AT with the blue dial!

I also like Daniel Craig's blue DeVille Hour Vision.
7Y
Oct 23, 2012 8:41 AM
The meteorite Speedy is nice. I actually bought a Speedy Pro a few months ago but I couldn't get into it. The size was too small for me (used to the PO 45.5) and I didn't like the manual wind and lack of date. Sold it to a guy who will appreciate it more than me.
7Y
Oct 22, 2012 7:03 AM
Very nice! That watch is a beast. I am also interested in getting the Speedmaster 9300, couldn't justify having the PO in both 8500 and 9300!
7Y
Oct 19, 2012 8:23 AM
I've got an Omega PO 45.5mm 2500 but I'm planning on selling it to get the new PO 8500...I've wanted a watch withe a display back for a while now.
8Y
Aug 8, 2012 10:14 AM
Ha it was interesting trying to explain to my girlfriend and two traveling companions who Francois was and what a PW is!
8Y
Aug 8, 2012 1:52 AM
Haha yes unfortunately I didn't pack a pair of Os but Oakley did own Oliver Peoples for a bit before Lux bought them both, so I'm using that as an excuse.

Was great to meet Francois and take some long-time-coming PWs, in a pretty awesome city!





Took a few goes to get the Eiffel Tower in the right position for these, but Francois' faces are too good to not put them all up.





8Y
Jul 10, 2012 6:06 PM
Something never sat quite right with me about the Raimi films...mainly that the suit was way too designed for it to have been made by a high schooler.

I like in the new one they show how he made it and used his sunglasses.

Still think Emma Stone was miscast as Gwen Stacey, but Andrew Garfield was awesome.
8Y
Jul 10, 2012 5:59 PM
Ah yes I remember the day Rick came in and dropped those pics of the Brown Flores Gascan. It came out of nowhere right? There wasn't any advance word from Oakley or anyone on here. A lot of WTF! that day.
View All 1338 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2020 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2020 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2020 by their owners...or Rick.