TERRORISM: 18K & FMJ
USA
Joined
February 10th, 2007 - 10 years ago (21,705 logins)Last Login1 years ago
Completed set of all Time Bombs, including the 18K Solid Gold Time Bomb.

Completed set of all production Juliets.

The P.W. Club ( A.K.A. - Oakley Selfies )

Eyewear
765

Watches
35

Footwear
0

Apparel
0

Accessories
0

Collection
800
1Y
Jun 15, 2016 6:46 PM
That all said having a Display or screen calibrated correctly to ISf standards can make a world of difference taking it to its full potential. Currently i would say most people wouldn't even know and spend thousands for a better picture through replacement, where as for a few hundred and full calibration of there exisiting screen you can achieve a better picture then a full upgrade

Glad you mentioned that. A friend here locally also said the exact same thing. Professional calibration definitely sounds worthwhile.

1Y
Jun 10, 2016 8:50 PM
From my understanding, you really can't compare LED to OLED, as "LED TV's" are actually LCD that use LEDs for backlighting...

Exactly correct, Chris. No backlight = pure blacks, greater contrast (and details in shadows), and more vibrant colors. No comparison.

For the content that's being offered from providers currently, I couldn't see the value added benefit of OLED, and rather opted for a 4K Ultra HD last year; at a fraction of the costs too... I'm personally of the mindset to let this type of technology mature before making an investment.

To each their own; however, I have owned both and have seen the results firsthand. First thing I did after obtaining my OLED was to watch The Force Awakens on blu-ray. I noticed multiple details that I never even knew existed in multiple scenes in the movie - not to mention spectacular blacks and contrast. And this was using the exact same blu-ray player, same HDMI cables, and same AV receiver. The picture quality just blew me away. Same thing when I play DOOM or Halo: blacks and contrast are through the stratosphere, and LED simply cannot compare. You're more than welcome to stop by and see for yourself if you'd like. Just give me a call...

And a Pioneer Kuro Plasma from yrs back is still amazing to this day and beats most of whats on offer today.

personally i see all the new tech as it comes out as i have to install it. Honestly it's all average at best, still prefer the blacks and image of a plasma. OLED will only get better, but for now i will totally bypass LCD/LED and stay with Plasma.

Very true, Mike: plasma still beats most of what is available today; however, plasma is no longer being produced and the OLED panels still beat plasma in both black levels and refresh rate (600Hz vs 1000+ Hz).

And the OLEDs being produced are all 4K now, including both this year's and last year's models. Again, mine was only $3,200 which was very comparable to Samsung's flagship FALD LED panels, so the price was very reasonable (at least for the 2015 OLED models).

Here is a link to the 2016 model. Price will undoubtedly come down, and I'll probably pick one up and sell my current set:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n_H8ahNYKsY




1Y
Jun 1, 2016 7:08 PM
I'm way behind the curve on TVs. Still using an LCD 720p model in my bedroom, which is really the only time I get to watch TV. What's the general jist of oled vs regular led.

For those who only watch/use tv occasionally, LED is fine. But for those who want the best performance from their monitors, OLED blows LED out of the water.

Whether it's black levels, viewing angle, refresh rate, or overall contrast ratios, LED cannot compete with OLED - not even the FALD (Full Array Local Dimming) LEDs.

Check the reviews on Youtube or anywhere else online. Here is a great comparison video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ogjW7NLD8w

Although, I have not noticed any judder at all on my OLED (as the narrator mentioned - he is also using a generation older model than mine, the 65EG9600), and this issue can be largely corrected by making adjustments on the older models by calibrating the settings.

And price? $3,200. That's in the same ballpark as the high-end flagship FALD LED models from Samsung (i.e., JS9500 or JK9800). LED is obsolete because it has a backlight. Even as good as FALD is, it cannot achieve perfect black levels like OLED because that backlight bleeds through, no matter what.

And mine is the 65EF9500, which is flat, not curved...

My prediction: in about 8 - 10 years LED will no longer be in production. As of now OLED is by far the most superior display technology available!







1Y
Jun 1, 2016 8:17 AM


After waiting two and a half years, the day has finally arrived.

Without question, this is the best picture that money can buy. If anyone has the opportunity to purchase one, by all means do so.

I will never - EVER - go back to LED! It is completely obsolete!

1Y
Feb 24, 2016 10:01 AM


Oakley compression shorts. Great for workouts. Trust me.
4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Rick....

I owe you so much, my friend. I will try to keep this concise, but I can say that I have a tremendous amount of respect for you and all you've done. Thanks again for everything. And welcome back.

TERRORISM
4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Great write-up, Travis, and very cool to have had the opportunity to meet you at the Co-Pilot event as well.

Thank you for your service to our great country and keep the faith, O-brother.

4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Thank you for taking the time to do the Spotlight and for the write-up, Ian. Hope you get those X-Metals back that you traded away for the new year.

Semper Fi, teufel hunden.

4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
A true Oakley enthusiast through the years! Nice to see you "in the spotlight", Fred!
4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
This is a man who has helped me IMMENSELY and asked for.... NOTHING in return! I truly appreciate your past help, Josh, and am excited to see you have your spotlight! Congratulations, my friend, and thank you again for all your help! Well deserved!
4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Very interesting write-up. Too bad your racing career was abruptly ended, but at least you still have those nice bikes (and your Oakleys, of course)! Congrats on the Spotlight, Paul!
4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
You're a great guy, David, and an even greater collector; that's truly an amazing number and variety of glasses. Your words are also wise as you encourage others to collect what they truly like versus just adding another pair to their collection, as collections aren't always about numbers. Congrats on the spotlight, and on having such an incredible setup.


4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
I have a deep respect for a man who puts his wife and family before himself, and it certainly seems that you've done exactly that, Mark. Congrats, bro. Your Oakley collection is truly amazing... but your family is PRICELESS!

4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Wow, Chris! I didn't even know you were among us! You need to post a little more often. I mean, you must be a cool guy... after all, you recommend putting Oakleys as a priority before food.


4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Oh, yeah: your dog looks vicious.

4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Great collection & great Spotlight, Ken! Congrats!

4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
How can so many words of wisdom eminate from one man? Paul, you hit the nail on the head with collecting: collect what makes you happy and not what you think others want you to have. No questions asked there! And you're so right when you say that people not possessions are more important in life. Glad to hear your girlfriend is recoving well from the surgery! Best of luck to you, her, and her son for the future!

By the way, your collection is amazing as well, with so many beautiful vintage pieces. To the average person, that would appear to be a bunch of older Oakleys. But for those of us who know what those glasses are, your collection is the culmination of endless searching, time, perseverance, and dedication to your passion - not to mention the money involved. Very well done! Reminds me of another guy in the UK I once knew (King Percy!)...

Congratulations, Paul! Thank you so much for sharing!
4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Simply spectacular! Thank you for sharing and congratulations on a magnificent collection, Jamie!
4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
In a hobby dominated almost exclusively by males, it's nice to see a female who also shares our passion for the O. Thank you, Joanne, for taking the time to share your collection and thoughts with the rest of us!

4Y
May 12, 2013 6:04 AM
Sounds like it's all about generating revenue. Those new "distressed" Radars... $450...? Really? Nearly half-a-thousand-bucks??? Two, three, four, five, twenty-five replacement lenses... doesn't matter, really. X-Metals weren't even $450. Now o-matter frames are priced that high.

No thanks.


4Y
May 10, 2013 9:25 AM
Interesting that they'd return to them over the HJ2 (not that I'm complaining, mind you)
Second that notion: Flak Jackets are far cooler than Half Jacket 2.0 IMO.

Interseting color combos. Thank you for posting, Greg.

4Y
Apr 23, 2013 11:24 PM
Nice watch, Ricardo!

4Y
Apr 17, 2013 9:21 AM
A very special thanks to a special member here who helped in the acquisition/creation of one of my dreams... now become reality:




Carbon/24K Pennys with factory-produced frames and factory-cut (not custom cut) lenses. 100% Oakley with High Definition Optics.

And a few shots of the Carbon/24K X-Metal family:







I only wish my camera/photography skills were close to those of Francois'.




4Y
Apr 16, 2013 9:57 AM
Fantastic photography, Francois! Congratulations on that pair.

4Y
Apr 12, 2013 7:36 PM
James,

You buy 'em and keep the cap. I'll buy the glasses from you.

Seems like you and I are on opposite sides of the spectrum on that one: I love the frame color (especially since it's not something available in OCP as with other "special releases") but couldn't care less about the cap. :-)

Nice addition to your collection, Jordan.


View All 1587 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2017 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2017 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2017 by their owners...or Rick.