O-Whores: Thread Killers
Maui, Hawaii
Joined
May 30th, 2006 - 12 years ago (2,892 logins)Last Login4 years ago
Found by
Email from Oakley Customer Service Rep
==CAUTION: ACTUAL COLLECTION MAY BE LARGER THAN IT APPEARS==


Yukio - February 28th, 2002 is when I bought my first pair. It was a Titanium Penny with Ice Iridium lenses.

I honestly cannot recall why I was going in to buy an Oakley pair. Part of me thinks it was because of X-Men, but the movie and DVD were released in 2000, so I doubt I would have gone looking for them two years later (though movie props/prop replicas is another sort of hobby of mine). Part of me thinks I was just browsing the store and saw the Oakley X Metal line and thought that they were just uber cool.

Regardless, I feel like I was looking for/at a Juliet and thought they were too big for me. So the guy suggested the Penny, and the addiction started. Got them for $290. Still have that same pair ^_^


Dawn - September 2005 - Ducati Zero

The thought had never crossed my mind to look at a pair of Oakleys, the painful images of the Razor Blade and Frogskins plagued my mind with flashbacks of the 80's. But I had always spent a good amount money ($150-$300) on sunglasses and purchased a new pair at least once a year.

When I met Yukio he always wore and continues to wear sunglasses. It never occurred to me that they were primarily all Oakleys. I did recall thinking "Hmmm...those are pretty nice, I like the aggressive look (of the Penny)". When we started dating we moved in together and I just looked at everything that he had, movie props/replicas, DVDs, stuff, stuff and more stuff. His Oakley collection at the time consisted only of about 7-9 pairs. I had always been the get-up-and-go type and lived very minimally. I shared with him that I honestly wished that I had something that I had a passion for, something that I could collect...He took me to the Oakley store.

We went there several times, he insisted that my first pair be purchased by him. Fair enough, but finding something to fit a Japanese face was starting to seem futile. In the case the Zero didn't draw me in; the large lens really reminded me of the glamor girls walking around with Gucci bags and Prada shoes (I don't even know if either of those companies even make those products). I tried them on and looked at him..."Damn you look hott" was his reply. I smiled and walked over to the mirror, directly followed by a short stroll to the cash register.

As for just who we are, we're the perfect couple that makes everyone sick. We live by no standards other than our own. We've been together since 8/23/05 and got engaged on 6/6/06. Just about every crevice of our wedding will be infiltrated with Oakley if we can help it. And once we can build our home at least one room will be built around it. This is not our only love, other than each other we like playing video games (Dawn's getting better each day...she's starting with Super Mario Bros. on an original NES), love making dinner and watching a movie together...one from the collection of almost 1,000. We have a pet rat named Lain, our 3-yo niece loves her and always tells grandma "It's ok grandma, don't be scared". We have a love for our automobiles, Yukio had a 2005 Mazda RX-8, Dawn has a 2005 VW GTI 1.8T. Our daily lives consist of Yukio working at Cingular Wireless and Dawn at Island Partners Hawai'i (Destination Management Company). Oh did we forget to mention we're both born and raised on the island of Maui and still live here today? =)

How may the O-Whores serve you?

Deals for us

Dann as the Medal of Honor model (not really...)

The additional 4 towers, pretty much filled to capacity

The Holy Shrine of the O

Our long sought after double wide

Be a Rebel - Public Enemy

Memories of the 2009 Factory Co-Pilot event

On my way to the Pixar Toy Story 3 wrap party, stylin in the Whisker!

Eyewear
109

Watches
1

Footwear
1

Apparel
11

Accessories
119

Collection
241
4Y
Sep 23, 2014 7:29 PM
Thanks for your interest, folks! Both pairs sold recently. It's sad to see them go, but we're glad another collector will be able to enjoy them.
4Y
Sep 9, 2014 8:40 AM
Wow, that's pretty dick of them. Making two separate collector's editions with different pieces in them. Usually they have several different packages, but just progressively adding more the higher up the chain you go.

I would go with the Batmobile, only because I think the miniature cityscape in the statue looks a bit odd. Like...Godzilla-Batman.
4Y
Sep 7, 2014 10:58 PM
I'm considering selling one or both of our Brown Juliets to fund another purchase. Although we don't really ever wear them, it's one of those pieces that's kind of hard to get rid of, you know?

We're looking to get about $600 per pair. If interested, PM us. Thanks!

4Y
Sep 6, 2014 7:59 PM
I really like that shirt. Simple, yet strong.
4Y
Sep 5, 2014 9:24 PM
Ohh, I have forgotten about this thread. I should post up newer shots.

Nice pickup, Andrew! I assume you shoot landscape? That's the perfect landscape lens, while still retaining some versatility.
4Y
Sep 4, 2014 9:26 PM
Nice pic. For some reason, my eyes are just continually drawn to those awesome street lights and the perfect spots of alternating orange and yellow. Very cool.
4Y
Sep 4, 2014 1:16 AM
I think we need to fill this thread up. Five years later, I'm still in love - absolutely in love - with Fran├žois' picture. Maybe I'll try and come up with a few ideas over the next couple weeks...
4Y
Sep 3, 2014 8:27 PM
Hey Dann, what was at that link you posted? It's dead now. :(
5Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
When you're proud of the pairs you own, regardless of how little or how many, no collection is modest. You have a stunning collection and show what a true Oakley fan you are. Awesome Spotlight, Ken.
8Y
Nov 13, 2010 7:20 AM
Wow...wish I got something like that when I get sick. Very nice score.


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 13, 2010 6:44 AM
Zero Halliburton cases
Nice.

Canon. Short of someone offering me a truckload of cash, I can't ever see myself owning or using anything Nikon.

Ooh...and Hostess. I love their snack cakes.


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 12, 2010 7:47 AM
Ahh, a rare Triple. Nice one. Looks great, too.


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 11, 2010 11:52 PM
I hate you. I really do. You buggers keep tempting me to buy that damn Square Whisker. I need to save my cash for the Tron Gascan...but that Emerald is so sexy!


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 11, 2010 11:50 PM
Someone get on that, pronto!


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 11, 2010 11:48 PM
I work in the Kahului store. I just thought you might have come in because you looked familiar. Think I helped someone that might have looked like you, is all.


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 9, 2010 2:34 AM
Lighthaus Camera.


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 8, 2010 2:24 AM
Doubt it.
We sell the Fuji W3 3D camera. It uses parallax technology to produce 3D images you can see on the camera LCD without 3D glasses. They also have a 3D digital picture frame viewer that uses the same technology. Unfortunately, if you're not looking directly at it, the effect is lost. You get horrible ghosting and blurriness if you're off to the side. While they may have "multiple viewing zones", it's not quite as effective as other 3D methods. Plus, they have stronger and more frequent side effects than other 3D methods, and affect more people. For example, I can view 3D using active shutter or polarized lenses with no problem. When looking at a lenticular 3D image or video, I start getting small headaches after 10-15 minutes. It's okay in small doses, but there's no way I could watch a whole movie like that.

I think Oakley's 3D glasses will be just fine for at least a few years.


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 7, 2010 12:42 AM
You could also check the reviews on the site. For example, the Mag Switch:
http://o-review.com/glassesmodels.asp?ID=117

This is the O-Review, after all. ;)


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 7, 2010 12:39 AM
Oakley.com:
Oakley 3D lenses were developed to deliver a prime entertainment experience in cinemas that utilize passive polarization, the technology found in most 3D theaters. Oakley is also pursuing partnerships with manufacturers of home 3D systems that utilize passive polarization technology. This will allow consumers to use the same eyewear for home and cinema 3D entertainment.
They're on it.


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 7, 2010 12:34 AM
Did the same here, too. But I don't have any problem with them sitting centered. Maybe the slits in my display blocks were cut thinner - they feel a little tight when I try to put the coin in a couple of them.


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 5, 2010 12:28 PM
No kidding. If we can have a good time in Iowa, we can have one anywhere.
You guys need a Hawaii vacation. Just sayin.


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 5, 2010 8:27 AM
I haven't bought a Fuel Cell, so my use of them is limited to trying them on in stores. But isn't the Gascan lens a little "longer"? Doesn't the Fuel Cell lens cut into your peripheral a little bit? That kind of defeats one of the main selling points of Oakley HDO-3D.
Quite honestly, I kind of like the choice of going with the Gascan. It's pretty much the biggest lens I can think of in a frame that's more neutral and unisex than any other. Plus, if they were always looking at having a "Tron Limited Edition" of the 3D glasses, the wide stems of the Gascan provides the best canvas for some artwork.


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 5, 2010 7:45 AM
I agree, for the price, Bel is a much better buy. I'm just happy you still appreciate the skull.


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 5, 2010 6:55 AM
I feel cheated now, having seen the new Irvine store...


~Yukio
8Y
Nov 5, 2010 6:54 AM
http://www.oakley.com/products/6629/24782
http://www.oakley.com/products/6631/24785


~Yukio
View All 2071 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2018 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2018 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2018 by their owners...or Rick.