O-AFX: Archer O
Nor Cal
Joined
October 10th, 2006 - 11 years ago (1,365 logins)Last Login1 years ago
Hi, I have been collecting long enough to not know when I started. My first buy was of the heart. It was the Zero 0.3, if I could have worn them and not felt silly I would have bought them right there on the spot. But since I was looking for something for everyday wear, my first purchase was a 2nd Gen M Frame Cobalt/1st Gen Blue Iridium Heater. I love them so much I bought another one in Carbon with the same Blue Iridium colorway in a strike. I ended up with 2 more heaters and 1 more strike lens in blue iridium, along with 3 more M Frames to match the number of lenses. Say goodbye to Rayban's and say hello to an addict.

Archer is the name I gave myself, before my parents knew me enough to not name me George. Archer is a metaphor of what I am and what I want to be. I can reach the target, but I am still learning the wisdoms of being complete in the journey. And though I love the vision of the archer, I haven't time for the complication that would follow in the commitiment a formal name change would require. Call me George or Archer it doesn't matter it is all a state of my mind anyway. A place to focus, when my given name has no meaning.

I don't see life in numbers and calculations. I see life in shapes and colors. I don't have photographic memory, I have photographic interests. Anything I am interested in, I instinctively know everything about it or know how to move in the direction of the answer. It is not something I carry within me, it is something recalled when it finds a need. You might say I live life in a spiritual Braille. A place where everything has a touch, much like the heat from a fire or the vibration of a guitar string. A place where the wind talks to you and the trees acknowledges its presense. This leaves me in a wanting state of mind. I want to do and feel it all to the point I cannot move against the weight of the choices. Oakley is a part of that paralysis. It's like a walk through the Wonka factory, full of color and wonderful shapes that light up the senses all at once, like some abstract fire work display, on some no good reason holiday. I know this sounds like some bald headed person in a diaper, sucking his thumb from the bottom of a crib. A play pen I have never left, but time had chosen to forget. A time you don't remember without the help of parents and grandparents. A time when you were cute, cuddly and undefined. When life was only senses and touches.

Like so many of my other addictions, they leave me in a perplexed state of need. Someday I will crack this code I created and the mask I wear that justifies the need. Until then, I stand and stare at my collection, and in the distance of a forgotten corner of my mind, a childs voice can be heard....oooooh...preettty!

Eyewear
4

Watches
14

Footwear
0

Apparel
0

Accessories
0

Collection
880
4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
It would have been a sin to not have you in the spotlight. I enjoy your insights and admire your collection, not by what you have, but by all the hard work it took to accumulate it. It is a fine collection. Kudos to your wife and her support in your O-bsession. I am like yourself, supported by my wife, in my own pursuits of the O.

Follow your instincts, you never know where they may lead. Some where through narrow streets, the smell of food in the air and and the bark of a distant Monster Dog you may find what your looking for.

I wish you both the best.
George (Archer O)
4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
They don't come any better in my book. Thank you Josh for your great energy and time you afford us all. You have great big heart and personally happy to have found a friend you. Thanks again for everything you do. I wish you all the best. You deserve nothing less!!!

4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
A very well deserved addtion to the collectors spotlight. Thank you for sharing your collection and words with us all. Many happy oakley times in your future...
4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
I like the words Bill. You are the perfect person to open the spotlight. Thanks for the support you give us all and the humour when we take ourselves to seriously. You are a great balance. Here's to Karma, may your basket always remain full.
4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Thanks Paul for sharing the Oakley side of your life with us members. It give us a better chance to get to know you. Many happy Oakley moments in you future...;o)
4Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Thank you for letting us into your Oakley world and sharing your wonderful collection with us all. Many happy returns on your O search.
6Y
Sep 20, 2011 4:35 AM
Glad they arrived safe and sound. We threw the extras in to offset the international shipping cost you had to pay. Enjoy!!
6Y
Sep 18, 2011 8:58 AM
This is the only M-Frame that offered the black chrome colorway and it came with the signature on a slate heater lens. So I would say that they are very special if you can find them. They are my favorite Pro M-Frame color ever!! The color varied slightly like the Splice's black chrome, depending on the batch. Very comfortable on the golf course too.

This comment is not about justifying the asking price. It is just to point out the rarity and beauty of this frame.
6Y
Sep 13, 2011 8:42 AM
We have the 6 winners. The first name wins the Eyepatch 2's. The next 3 win the Racer96's contribution, followed by the Dwcfastrice's polished luggage tag and finally the 2 tier stand offered by DisturbedEarth.

My wife and I really enjoyed this experience and the kind words displayed leading up to the drawing. We both agree that we will be doing this again so keep an eye on this thread for future drawings.

Thank you to the other members for their contribution and making this even better. Thanks to my mom for drawing the names and Dann for this wonderful forum to hold this contest in. And finally congratulations to the winners and the 54 reviewers who participated.

Winners, please contact the gift contributors for shipping arrangements.

In list of order.

Hounsth2nd - Eypatch2 Winner

EYESHADES - Racer96 gift

funky-trixtar -Racer96 gift

Oakley_nz - Racer96 gift

Joe-Matter - Dwcfastrice (luggage tag)

jjkrause1 - DisturbedEarth (2 tier sun glass stand)

























6Y
Sep 13, 2011 6:28 AM
Ok I am having trouble putting the pics up. Someone help me...


6Y
Sep 12, 2011 6:13 AM
Wow great response to this give away. Dwcfastrice as offered a polished luggage tag to the pot and DisturbedEarth with his great contribution to the drawing as well. I will draw in the order the offers came in and let the contributors know where to send their packages.

Tomorrow at 5pm Pacific standard time I will stop taking names. The drawing will begin sometime after that. I will have my mom draw from the hat. Really, who can't trust a mom? My mom doesn't want her picture taken, but I will have pics of her hand in the hat and her hand holding the winning participants. My wife and I will take the pics.

I will try and have the names and pics of the winners up tomorrow night. Thank you to all the contributors, this has been a great experience for me.

I hope to have another drawing again in the future.


6Y
Sep 9, 2011 6:02 AM
Nah HED it was my bad, I switched it back to 96. ;o)
6Y
Sep 8, 2011 11:26 AM
Thank you all for the kind words. Still a few days left for the drawing, so get your names in.

Racer96 messaged me and as added a little something to the pot. There will be 3 names picked after the winner of the glasses to receive a little Oakley gift from our own Racer96. I don't know what it is, but it's Oakley and who doesn't like that. Big thanks to Racer96 for his generous gesture to the members.

Best of luck!
6Y
Sep 1, 2011 7:34 AM
I am giving away a pair of Eyepatch 2 (Purple/Clear Fade HD Polarized) I won at the SF O-Store. All you have to do is put your o-review name on this thread. I will gather up the names and throw it in a hat and have an unbiased person draw the name. The name that is drawn wins the EP2's. It's just that easy.

The name will be drawn and posted on this thread on Monday September 12th. This should give plenty of time for everyone to post. I will only take names that post on this thread! Every member who reads this thread can participate. EVERY MEMBER!

Shipping in the US is free. Anywhere else is $33 USD except for Canada which will be slightly less. Sorry for the shipping charges, but this must be the case.

I wish you all the best of luck.
6Y
Aug 19, 2011 11:23 PM
Had a great night at the opening with jimmyateworld, hed4jc and o-xide. The first thing you notice with these gentlemen is how genuine they are. It was a pleasure to spend time with three quality people and hed4jc's lovely wife. Big thanks to Jamie for inviting me to this special evening. It was great to reconnect with you again. Hope to see you all at the next event.

PS. I WANT THAT TIME PIECE!!!
8Y
Oct 18, 2009 1:19 AM
We continue to underestimate the only point of being on this planet and that is to feel. There is no logical reason to collect anything except to satisfy the feelings. Good or bad we are propelled solely by the engines of our five senses. We are all caught in the current of ego/emotion and desire the aesthetic too much to escape this absolute. Everything you ever done or will ever do, will ultimately mean nothing, but our feelings will continue to find the importance of it anyway. It is not important to find meaning in what we collect, but why we are driven to collecting something meaningless. Sales pitch ourselves all we want, but in the end there is a solution that is far more simpler and less noisy. Find joy in what you do...anything else is pointless.
8Y
Oct 17, 2009 9:23 PM
Oakley will always be collectible as long as people continue to find Jesus in food products and keep rocks as pets!
8Y
Aug 14, 2009 9:04 AM
Back Country has Will Barras Montefrios for $120.00 . Only 4 pairs left.
8Y
Aug 14, 2009 7:52 AM
Hey, What do you think of this icon for the Naomi South? Better separation.... Look at the shadowed silver O against the shadowed ear stem print. They are a very close match in the pic and in person. To top it off the icon really floats on the frame.
8Y
Aug 13, 2009 7:22 AM
There are 2 version of the Todd Francis. There is the 2 bird and single bird versions. Supposed to be half as many of the 2 bird ones.

The First Flores had 2 different Icons too, one brown the other orange.

Are there any other version of the artist series we should know about, besides the stupid serial number editions?

Add The Jupiter C100 to the Artist list also.

The Jupiter C100 and the 1st David Flores/brown icon are what I need for the rest of the collection.

If you can get one of the Peterson croakers, I would consider that a complete collection. 50 of these in the world!! That makes this the rarest artist series of all. Flores 2 coming in at second.
9Y
Oct 10, 2008 5:52 AM
Wow nice to know the Pimps are really sweet! I have to pay a visit to the O stire. Congrats to everyone and their recent buys.

John! Wow!!!
9Y
Oct 3, 2008 6:51 AM
Thanks Paul. I thought about that, but I am afraid the grab icons are a distraction from the art work. Maybe something a little less contrasting. Like silver maybe. Black gets lost and white might be too harsh. The white is not quite so loud compared to the pic though. Point is well recieved. When I have the time I will try icons at the netural end of the grey scale and see how that works.
9Y
Oct 2, 2008 7:44 PM
Thanks Dann. I have always been a bit troubled with the black icons. They blend in to much with the background and you don't get to see the square O trademark enough. Which is a characteristic I really like about the gascan. I am not a big fan of changing a limited pair of shades, unless it is a marked improvement from the orginal design.

Oakley's everything "warm grey" policy can be very annoying with most of the limited edition eyewear. The limited edition design approach, seems to be...well, limited!

It reminds me of a house with a terrific floor plan, but all the walls are painted white. Oakley, get some guts, drop the brush in some color, add some texture, buy some funiture and make a real statement! They don't make a half ass chair for half asses. Finish the job! The half chair concept is starting to put my other half to sleep. For once I would like the ends to finally meet the end.

I guess what I am saying is that I am on the fence with both setups. So I thought I'd take a krups blending wand to my brain and get feedbacks from the fellow Osters. Let the Fooses fall where they may, so to speak.

The nice part. Nothing's concrete in this wooden head of mine. I have half a mind to set it in stone and the stones to not mind.
9Y
Oct 2, 2008 12:38 PM
What do you guys think?


9Y
Oct 2, 2008 12:18 PM
Man!! Those froggies are fantastic! Sweet ass cut Josh!!
View All 500 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2017 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2017 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2017 by their owners...or Rick.