JL: Ken J
Minnesota
Joined
September 12th, 2004 - 13 years ago (446 logins)Last Login10 years ago
Oakley Fan
12Y
Dec 26, 2004 11:53 AM
Merry Christmas Everyone! Been so busy I can hardly believe it's nearly 05!

James Lenz (JL - 12/26/2004 3:53:16 AM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 12, 2004 1:00 AM
Google! I typed in Oakley Review.

James Lenz (JL - 12/11/2004 5:00:14 PM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 12, 2004 12:57 AM
Yes you occassionaly see promotional gear up for sale at ebay, but i've never been able to get hold of any, let alone buy any.

James Lenz (JL - 12/11/2004 4:57:33 PM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 12, 2004 12:56 AM
I have a couple of soft vaults but I hardly ever use them because they're a bit bulky. Use the bag as most of you guys do for most occassions.

James Lenz (JL - 12/11/2004 4:56:03 PM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 12, 2004 12:53 AM
Yes, perhaps we'll start to see a new patent or so come out of this.

James Lenz (JL - 12/11/2004 4:53:42 PM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 12, 2004 12:52 AM
I haven't looked at Magnesium for several years now, but if the new ones do have the etching i'd certainly like to see them. I defintely know if there was an etching on the four, it'd be nusiance value for vision.

James Lenz (JL - 12/11/2004 4:52:19 PM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 11, 2004 2:22 PM
I think i've discussed this before, you simply wouldn't be able to get the whole word "magnesium" on the lenses of the Switch and the Fours which don't have them. And if they did the etching would be a nuisance because of the size of the lenses. The first batches of Mag M's did not come with the etching, only the replacement lenses started showing up with etchings further down the line and now they're a permanant fixture. You'll still be able to find some of the Mag M's in stores which don't have the etching.

Mag is very nice looking which is why I own several, but too corrosive for my liking, especially for everyday use in wet or dry conditions. I've sold most of my Mags because the coating just won't stay on, and i've laid my frustrations to Oakley more than a dozen times over a two year period.

James Lenz (JL - 12/11/2004 6:22:48 AM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 11, 2004 12:23 PM
Happy Birthday Phil! So, your Hatchets are your birthday present, what's your christmas present?

James Lenz (JL - 12/11/2004 4:21:15 AM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 10, 2004 4:11 PM
Hi Dann,

Just had an idea, if it's doable i guess that's another matter. But ever week I come on this site there is a new poster or a poster I haven't seen in a while. A lot of us come from different countries but most of us are from the US.

We each have our individual icon thing, but i was perhaps thinking if a Country Flag could be added somewhere, eg. Alexis is from the UK, so a Union Jack could be put somewhere, US being stars and stripes, or the Lone star if you're a Texan.

That way if anybody new joining, we'd sort of get a rift of who is who and most importantly who is from where. Just a thought that it would be easier than searching through an individuals profile and in the forum we can identify ourselves a lot easier.

James Lenz (JL - 12/10/2004 8:11:12 AM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 10, 2004 3:13 PM
I surprised only a few people here mentioned Juliets. Mine would probably have to be my FMJ Fire XX's because i've probably taken care of them the best.

James Lenz (JL - 12/10/2004 7:13:16 AM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 10, 2004 3:01 PM
Just about the coin box thing, perhaps Oakley are trying to dispose of older inventory, eg. the romeo coin/boxes which weren't filled or were just plain spares for warranty frames and lenses. As we know with the Romeo there aren't as many frame colour combos as the Juliet, so technically there may be an overstock of boxes. And if anyone knows how the coins are produced perhaps the Romeo and Juliet coin are done together which would then double the number of Romeo coins in existence.

Perhaps we'll see a newer box and coin at a later date. I seem quite impressed at the new 'Romeo 2' Logo which would look quite good on a coin, so don't give up wishing just yet.

James Lenz (JL - 12/10/2004 7:01:00 AM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 10, 2004 2:53 PM
Did you specifically ask CS about stretchline dealers? Ob's right the best thing is to track down prefably a OPD Skate/Surf Shop which is where I got my Cats from. If you contact them and they don't know what "stretchline" is then remind them it's that flash looking cabinet with the stretch Oakley logo on the top. I'm pretty sure you'll be able to find a pair of Camos.

Just make sure you give them a good trial before taking them, i took mine and the lenses were creaky. The latest batch though is fine. If they come with a plastic wrap then they're a relatively new pair.

James Lenz (JL - 12/10/2004 6:50:34 AM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 4, 2004 3:57 AM
Hey Cal! Noticed the Dartboard style coming through here, anyone know how big these glasses will be, they look similar to the Juliet in some ways, but i'd expect a Romeo to have larger 'lenses' hence the name and it's predecessor.

James Lenz (JL - 12/3/2004 7:57:33 PM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 3, 2004 11:07 AM
Well guys, people make fun of Overthetops as well. Just about the bike trade show thing above, are they actually marketing these in public?

I'm definetly not interested but would like to know the flex ratio of these if anyones tried them on.

James Lenz (JL - 12/3/2004 3:05:55 AM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 3, 2004 11:01 AM
I agree with Elijah, they may very well be Moss. I recall the M frame Jokers had the metallic specks on the frame as well, but the colour wasn't really as dark as in the picture, or is it just the lighting?

James Lenz (JL - 12/3/2004 3:01:02 AM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Dec 3, 2004 10:55 AM
Hmm, interesting that they come with the Romeo 97 coin, you'd at least think that these didn't orginate from back then, and really don't look anything like the original Romeos.

James Lenz (JL - 12/3/2004 2:55:35 AM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Nov 27, 2004 5:53 PM
I was just having a look closely at this, I haven't seen the real thing yet, but can some one fill me in on what is printed below the "Oakley Thump"? Ed says the "assembled in" is on the Left earstem, but this is a picture of the Right.




James Lenz (JL - 11/27/2004 9:51:56 AM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Nov 27, 2004 5:47 PM
That's right it's a generational thing, I think most of the Splice I see in store now have the stretch logo printed in white on the front.

At first I was a bit confused at some of the ones on Ebay, as you all should know when Splice was first released, there were many fake Splices going round with the logo printed on the front and this was the easy way to tell they were fake, as with the plastic Juliets.

James Lenz (JL - 11/27/2004 9:47:13 AM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Nov 26, 2004 9:41 AM
I'm not really the X-Metal expert but i heard that every mould is destroyed after use which is why every X-metal is unique. Someone can probably fill me in.

James Lenz (JL - 11/26/2004 1:41:47 AM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Nov 25, 2004 2:49 AM
Hi Cal, I haven't been out to see Thum yet, but is there like most Oakley sunnies, a Made in USA, etc on the arm? I'm guessing that the assebled in Singapore part is printed in the book.

My guess is the glass is made in USA and the components have been sorced from Asia.

James Lenz (JL - 11/24/2004 6:49:11 PM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Nov 25, 2004 2:44 AM
This is sad, and yes ridiculous. I cannot understand why Oakley has to get personal about removing images, I mean talking to lawyers? obviously is an example of the lengths they go to protect the brand. And yet we are their NO1 loyal supporters and customers! So unfair.

James Lenz (JL - 11/24/2004 6:43:44 PM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Nov 24, 2004 6:47 AM
Thanxs Alexis, with the talk above I thought it had been permanently removed.

James Lenz (JL - 11/23/2004 10:47:56 PM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Nov 24, 2004 6:04 AM
damn, i was on yesterday and I saw the pic, but i didn't save it! Anybody still have it? Johns one doesn't seem to work anymore.

James Lenz (JL - 11/23/2004 10:04:01 PM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Nov 24, 2004 6:00 AM
Thanks Alexis, sorry I thought that Thump might give a new piece of software with a new skin or something.

James Lenz (JL - 11/23/2004 10:00:35 PM)
------------------------------------------------------------
12Y
Nov 24, 2004 2:58 AM
That is unreal FP! Just looking at the Red Camo, i thought they might of come out with a different box for that one.

James Lenz (JL - 11/23/2004 6:58:54 PM)
------------------------------------------------------------
View All 203 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2017 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2017 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2017 by their owners...or Rick.