B3: Bob Russell
Ohio
Joined
August 29th, 2007 - 13 years ago (9,805 logins)Last Login23 hours ago
Found by
Random Oakley searches
My name is Bob, I'm from Ohio. I graduated from Ohio State with a degree in mechanical engineering. I submitted my resume to Oakley, but I never heard from them. It was worth a shot, right?

I guess it all started back when I was a kid admiring my favorite baseball players who of course sported M Frames. I wrote a kiddy letter to Oakley and they were kind enough to send back a few ads, planting a seed for eternity.

I?d never really considered collecting until my status crossed over from full time student to full time employee. Having some expendable cash helped me take the plunge.

I always enjoy getting to know fellow reviewers, so say hi if you have time.

Oakley Cabinet Dimensions (Cacatman)

Oakley Cabinet Dimensions (Cacatman)

Oakley Cabinet Dimensions (Cacatman)

Version 11

new releases

new releases

Manhole Cover

Oogie's Popcorn

Eyewear
96

Watches
9

Footwear
5

Apparel
23

Accessories
41

Collection
174
1M
Mar 5, 2021 1:16 PM
Are we guessing that $10k of each will be going towards that $140,000 foundation donation. Leaves Oakley with $4k for the trouble, which is 33% more than the Gold OTT for two X-Metals. Still not interested, but if it's a charity thing, then I could see it in a different light. - Dann

That was my thought when I saw the numbers. If my mental math switch is toggled on, that's the only way to read that. I wonder how many of the 14 pairs are handouts like the ones Lillard was wearing. He wears number zero, so perhaps 20 years from now we'll see serial number zero through 13.... or through 14.
2M
Feb 2, 2021 3:20 PM
I do sort of complement my Oakley collecting by grabbing digital catalogs, and of course fleshing out the DB, so who knows. - Dann

No! No... don't compare your humanitarian work of art that we all enjoy to this. Where are the timelines, the scans of old print, the spotlights, the PW shots, the display setups? Not even in the same ballpark!
2M
Jan 27, 2021 2:09 PM
Nice video. Did I see a clip in there from Top Gun?
3M
Jan 6, 2021 1:04 PM
SS 106. I can only assume there are at least 5-6 of these out there then, right?
3M
Jan 4, 2021 1:03 PM
No problems there. A perfect Splice collection doesn't need changing.
3M
Dec 31, 2020 1:29 PM
How many Splices have changed in your collection since then? I feel like it's been relatively unchanged for these past ten years.
3M
Dec 21, 2020 1:43 PM
But how it the nose piece attached?
3M
Dec 21, 2020 1:42 PM
I don't know why, but something about this makes me think of the Fatcat orbital. They're obviously different, but I can't shake the connection.
5M
Nov 13, 2020 1:18 PM
Marcellus! You've got the original PW down pat. Carrying the banner proudly!
6M
Oct 2, 2020 2:16 PM
I have Plex setup on it, but I'm not 100% sold. I already use Kodi on my SkyStream android box, which is connected to a local HD. I setup a regular SMB network path and it pulled my content into that without issue, so I may stick with it. I generate all the metadata anyway with a small freeware program, so it's all organized. Plex keeps crashing on that device too, but works on my phone and laptop. I may just keep both running, since it doesn't hurt. - Dann

In the years I've been using Synology for our home's media, there's only been a handful of movie files that I couldn't natively stream from it, and it was the TV's fault every time. I've heard enough bad stories of Plex not working that I've never even tried it. I was just curious how green your side of the fence looked. Thanks for the info.
6M
Oct 1, 2020 1:59 PM
Do you plan to use the native apps, DHCP? Or do you plan to Plex?
6M
Sep 30, 2020 1:56 PM
I thought we would have had the weight of the splice documented somewhere... either here or here or in the database, but I don't see it anywhere.

Anyone have any other weight threads?
6M
Sep 30, 2020 1:48 PM
Welcome.
9M
Jun 30, 2020 2:30 PM
For my kitchen knives I use a stone set to sharpen and then a honing steel to help them hold an edge after I use them a few times. I know someone with a large pocket knife collection and he only uses stones when restoring a blade. If it's not in poor condition he uses a leather strop to keep them in top shape.
10M
Jun 5, 2020 3:00 PM
Yeah, I'm surprised to see the older pieces there, but I like the fact they included them. This looks like a nice store. They even added a funny car!
10M
May 20, 2020 1:58 PM
Yeah, that's a surprising find! It looks like the nose is yellowing a bit, but the frame looks very crisp. Do you know if the frame is original to the lens?
11M
May 15, 2020 1:07 PM
Says the guy who just bought one with pocket change!
1Y
Mar 5, 2020 12:58 AM
It's the San Juan Metros - a bunch of MLB players participated in the Central American winter leagues in the off season.
1Y
Mar 4, 2020 2:48 PM
I saw this somewhere on the web and thought I would revive this thread. Not sure, but I'm dating it anywhere from 1991-94. The early M Frame gave me some major nastalgia.

1Y
Nov 5, 2019 12:08 PM
Welcome Paul. Glad to have you here.
1Y
Sep 17, 2019 3:35 AM
Is there a fansite that is recommended for selling and trading?


www.bricklink.com
1Y
Aug 28, 2019 12:33 PM
I saw a much smaller report on this yesterday and neither of them answered the one question I have. What medical situations would warrant an exception? Migraines is the only thing I can guess.
1Y
Aug 7, 2019 1:59 PM
For completeness, I'd like to add that all rings true for the C Wire as well: o-review.com/database_detail_model.php?ID=41

Any other wire models from this time period?
1Y
Jul 23, 2019 1:03 PM
We're glad you found it too Mike! Welcome.
1Y
Apr 19, 2019 1:40 PM
Tough to tell from that image, but is the iris piece a threaded bolt? I never would have guessed that from the first images in this thread.
View All 1131 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2021 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2021 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2021 by their owners...or Rick.