Crazy-Fredy: Fred D
Fribourg, Switzerland
Joined
June 9th, 2009 - 8 years ago (1,579 logins)Last Login1 months ago
Everything started a day of 1989. Tour de France, Time Trial: Greg Lemond wins his first Tour with some crazy Oakley neon yellow sunglasses (Razor Blades) on his head!
From this day, I literally felt in love with the O and began to collect and to wear Oakley sunglasses. My first pair was of course the same Razor Blades worn by Lemond. A few years later, I got my first pair of M-Frame, followed by the first Subzero and then the Romeo. At the beginning, my collection raised slowly but surely (I was student and was from time to time forced to sell old rare pairs of O's to get some new ones ). 25 years later, I now own more than 150 pairs of Oakley sunglasses, about 20 watches and a lot of apparel and accessories.
I'm an Oakley addict (sunglasses, goggles, watches, apparel) and a proud member of this community:-)

Eyewear
243

Watches
21

Footwear
0

Apparel
1

Accessories
112

Collection
377
9M
Feb 7, 2017 2:16 PM
Very nice collection. I would have loved a sliver (non xl) but apparently they are slowly replacing it with the XL model...
9M
Feb 2, 2017 7:45 PM
Vented about this yesterday. I wish they would stop making just black frame glasses with a little design on the icon. Everything is the same and it's frustrating. They should introduce the icon design into the frames themselves. That would be awesome but I know will never happen under this administration:( - JP


Couldn't agree more! These styles looks so boring. IMHO the "thin blue line" concept from DrChop is what they should have done.
10M
Jan 16, 2017 9:51 PM
The question is: can it be worse for Oakley than the actual situation?
2Y
Nov 19, 2015 1:32 PM
Globally I like it: interesting design, not completely innovative but still "new". Only disappointment: prizm daily lens. I personaly don't like "unmirored" lens. Would have prefered some black ir or ruby polarized.
2Y
Mar 17, 2015 4:23 PM
Surprisingly I already got them (and the TDF Turbine too). As we can see it on the pics, the final product is slightly different of the previous catalog pictures we were able to see (on the previous pictures, the side parts were white and not smoke like the rest of the frame).
The microclear bag looks great with all the historic locations of the TDF written on it. Definitively new is the ballistic box: I think it's exactly the same as the one used for the SI M Frame with extra place for 2 replacement lenses (one more as on the former model) and a plastic clip to attach the box.

Would just have wished a prizm trail as 2nd lens.
Now waiting for the Jawbreaker...
2Y
Mar 17, 2015 4:22 PM
Yes Chris, they do!
2Y
Feb 20, 2015 9:07 AM
Hi there,
I recently bought some Crosslink pitch (rx) with the usual two sets of earstems: one with blue icons/earsocks and one with black icons/earsocks. I would like to buy some other combinations but it's impossible to get them here in Switzerland. Could someone in the USA help me to get offical replacement earstems?
I need 1 pair (crosslink pitch 54) in satin black with red icons/earsocks, 1 pair (crosslink pitch 54) in satin black with yellow icons/earsocks and 1 pair (crosslink pitch 54) in satin black with retina burn icons/earsocks.
Last october, I was in New York and saw them available at all 3 Oakley stores of the city. It would be great if someone in the USA or in Big Apple could help me to get them... Thanks in advance. Fred.
2Y
Jan 21, 2015 11:29 PM
Looks great. I'm just missing the violet iridium lenses...
3Y
Sep 8, 2014 2:54 PM
Even if I'm not yet fully convinced about them (just wait and see), there's still a very positive news: the originality seems to be back at Oakley R&D.
3Y
Sep 8, 2014 2:52 PM
For the moment, these shades doesn't seem to bring a lot of luck to their successive owners. After Cavendish's fall at the Tour de France, now Nino's defeat at the World MTB Championship...
3Y
May 25, 2014 5:09 PM
Waouw this grip collection...
And the most amazing for me is the business card: a long long time ago Jim Jannard had apparently some office in Switzerland, approx. 30km away from my home, in a very small village where nobody was probably aware of what Oakley was about to be...
Would have been great to have the Oakley HQ in Switzerland;-)
3Y
May 18, 2014 11:58 AM
Dann you deserve a big big thank you for all the work you did and will continue to do. Itīs great to be connected with so much collectors all over the world.
3Y
May 15, 2014 7:02 PM
Unfortunately there are no other earsocks which fit into them.
A replacement kit for the crosshair 2.0 was available a few months ago (unfortunately only for a very short time): perhaps you can find a O Store or Vault who still have it or some online reseller....
4Y
Nov 22, 2012 11:50 AM
It's the same for me: I'm desperately seaking for some green icons to put into my true carbon (echelon) jawbone. I never thought that it would be so difficult.
5Y
Nov 21, 2012 12:24 AM
I can confirm:
- that the racing jacket icons are (much) larger than the jawbone's;
- that the radarlock icons are bigger than the radar's.
5Y
Nov 20, 2012 3:32 PM
Regarding icon compatibility, can someone confirm me that Radarlock do have the same icon as the Radar/Jawbone? Thanks for your help.
5Y
Sep 21, 2012 11:15 AM
I'll be in California/Nevada for holiday very soon (11-23 october). Is the Jupiter Factory Lite easy to find at any SGH stores or is it quite rare? In Switzerland there is absolutely no chance to get it so I hope to be luckier in the USA!
5Y
Apr 10, 2012 5:41 PM
The lens on the Radar Edge are interchangeable (source: Oakley official site). According to the same source, the frame should be "more rounded"... so it probably will be smaller (women specific) than the the normal radar.
5Y
Mar 13, 2012 2:07 PM
Nice trip, I wish you a lot of pleasure. To answer your question, I think you won't find a lot of Oakley stuff in these cities, so that you'll have all your time to visit and discover these wonderful places;-)
Europe is much more expensive than USA: you pay approx. 1,5 to 2x more for Oakley stuff than in your country. There are only a few O Stores (London, Berlin, Zurich). The Vaults are even rarer, so that we have to order our stuff online or buy it in the USA (directly or via eBay).
6Y
Jul 31, 2011 1:21 AM
I also bought black socks. I think it's the best compromise, even if it's not as good as when you can interchange the socks...
7Y
Mar 18, 2010 5:18 AM
This Splatter M-Frame is just my dream, together with the TB II...
7Y
Jan 27, 2010 5:44 PM
I've exactly the same problem but purchased my Jacket at a Vault in LA for a very reduced price. Difficult to bring it back... especially when you're living in Switzerland;-)
Seriously: I check my jacket everytime I zip it to avoid any problem. That's the best I can do (I don't want to change the complete zipper)
7Y
Jan 18, 2010 1:04 AM
I respect both opinions stated here but I regret that this problem has suddenly become a little bit to "personal". Take it easy guys!
Personaly, I understand very well that "business is business" and that Oakley doesn't have to make any exception just because you are an important customer but on another way I want to remember that if you want to order (and pay) a new watch band for your Rolex, Audemars Piguet, Omega or another brand, you'll receive it.
7Y
Dec 17, 2009 1:25 PM
Thanks for the tutorial Rev.
IMHO this idea of cutting the band is not really "Elite" worth but we have to live with it. I'm still loving the TB II.
7Y
Dec 14, 2009 5:22 PM
Mmmmh, I love this watch very much.
I hope that someone will post some pics about the cut and fit of the band...
View All 32 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2017 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2017 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2017 by their owners...or Rick.