keystone: David @ CUSTOMXMETAL.COM
usa
Joined
October 24th, 2006 - 13 years ago (190 logins)Last Login12 years ago
Websites
12Y
Nov 5, 2007 1:07 PM
Awesome pics guys! I think I'm the worst & the laziest photographer in the world, so nothing to post for me. :o)
12Y
Oct 5, 2007 10:23 AM
Hans, Didn't know you were in town. You should've stopped by. I would have given you a double wide to carry back home... Ok, maybe not.
12Y
Sep 22, 2007 10:07 AM
Congrats! That's awesome!!! Enjoy every moment of it. Our 2nd is 1.5 months, and he seems twice as big as when he was born. I already miss just born tiny little one...
12Y
Sep 16, 2007 7:29 AM
Really sorry to hear. Hang in there!!! Every cloud has a silver lining...
12Y
Aug 27, 2007 4:19 AM
Electric Purple for X-Metal XX will surely be available again. I'm not sure when. As I stated in our last newsletter (you can sign up at http://customxmetal.com
we are having difficulty obtaining some material for manufacturing.

There are a few Monster Pup lenses available at Oakley. We don't do those yet, as it's a pretty small market. If Lux discontinues making Pup replacement lenses or the model goes discontinues, making obtaining the lens difficult, we may step in. You see, we try our best to provide what is not easily obtained elsewhere for Oakley fans. :o)
12Y
Aug 26, 2007 8:40 PM
Good point on tracking. Our new website (not decided on URL yet) will market exclusively through movies & 10% of each featured eyewear belongs to the movie director exclusively. It doesn't matter how the customer got to our site, as long as they purchase a particular piece featured in your movie, you get that 10%. We will not put marketing money anywhere else. We sometimes give money (as students always need it) or give away the glasses used in the movie. :o)

Obviously, it won't work for golfoptical.com as movies & golf just don't go together & we will be spending lots of $$ in marketing.



12Y
Aug 25, 2007 9:14 PM
Thanks for the awesome feedback. Def, camera angle can be better. This was an exercise for a DV editing class, and I thought she did rather well in editing. Sunglass coverage was pretty cool, as it made the main character look better (this is between us, ok?). The other girl was better looking but she hardly even wore the Ralph shades she was supposed to show off. Also, there's a scene in the cafe, where the Ralph magically appear, then disappear. Obviously an editing/continuity mistake.

Also, for the guys, a Hyundai??? I'm Korean & also no offense to anyone who drives one, but a grey Elantra just doesn't do it for me. My wife's Chili Red Mini Cooper would've made a much more interesting. Then again, you can't do a spy chase with flashy cars, I guess.

Yes, http://golfoptical.com is mine (or 50% mine). Did u like the site? Free Global shipping is cool, but I guess I need to add Malaysia to the list. I just hardly have any Malaysian customers at the moment.

Also, you seem to know a thing or two about videos. If you have any youtube clips that you've done with cars, can u show them off? If they're good, maybe I can sign you up. :o) You get 10% on every glasses/sunglasses sold.
12Y
Aug 25, 2007 8:57 PM
Of course it's marketing gimmick. After all, hydrophobic coating has been around and used on most ophthalmic lenses and many sunglasses (ie MJ) for years. BUT you gotta give Oakley credit for their marketing skills, as they make it seem like they invented the concept and I've never seen this and other lens characteristics (ie polarization & impact resistance) presented better anywhere else.

All marketing stuff is biased as you can see from this video (sure to get your blood boiling):

http://youtube.com/watch?v=2mbDokgXmFA

12Y
Aug 25, 2007 11:06 AM
Here's the first sample of such movie. Oakley Script got a real nice coverage while the other girl hardly even wore the Ralph 4009. Perhaps she knew the lack of HDO in those???

http://www.golfoptical.com/films.php?osCsid=6e0e05aebd5fdc70f0fd0e31dde3c0d9

Let me know what you think. It's the film student director's first one, so don't be too harsh, but you can be honest, as she'll never see your comments.

She misspelled our web address, so we have some fixing up to do. :o)

BTW, I just sampled some new Oakley ophthalmics and ordered a bunch. Those were soooo awesome & I can't wait to put some of those in our movies. I never thought I'd be saying this, as our first sets of Oakley ophthalmics really didn't sell. Now, they account for over 50% of all men's ophthalmic sales for us.
12Y
Aug 25, 2007 10:54 AM
Still haven't seen the laser lens. Is there a pic somewhere?
12Y
Aug 19, 2007 12:23 PM
Thank you~

I have the splatter Hijinx & the Blue Iridium Radar, and both of them would be cool. I'm just not sure if the splatter will stick around long enough for us to sell long term. We'll probably be custom designing the glasses around the movie and characters, but just in case we were going to use off the shelf, I wanted to see what you guys thought.

Plate seems cool, but I don't have one, and it would be tough to get my hands on it. Mars Crater is cool, but it was used in the Fight Club (not sure if it was Crater or not). Flores Gascan would be cool, but I don't think they could be that careful with costume on the set.

These are not my buddies, but actual film major students I will be sponsoring. Most of them at NYU Tisch. I can't sponsor anyone at USC, as USC owns all student created material. Some of them aspire to become directors and some will assume other roles in film production. If they become really good, I'll ask for some help from my contact at Oakley that worked on X3 and handles most of entertainment relations at Oakley.

Here's some of the works:

http://sebiel.com/new/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=47&Itemid=28

http://sebiel.com/new/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=45&Itemid=28

He's going to be doing sound on the Cigarette Man this coming semester. It's seems kinda empty w/o sound, but still pretty good for first 16mm film project.

Most of them will start preproduction work for their first full production film this semester, so I don't think they're going to put out anything descent soon, but I do want to invest in their future.

Oh yeah, my first sponsored film did feature an Oakley Script Cappuccino, but it's one of her first DV projects, and I didn't like the script (not the glasses) too much, so I'm not sure how it turned out. If it's not too embarrasing, I'll put up a link. :o)

If any of you have a video on Youtube with over a million views, let me know & I'll sign you up. :o) Although, I may need to bribe you with some Oakley stuff. I have an ophthalmic tower left over & I'll be getting some RX vaults next week. (No, the tower is not for sale)

I have lots of work to do to catch up to Cheryl Shuman http://starryeyes.org as she's been doing it for over 20 years. I don't think her claim of 99.9% is true tho. She didn't do the X-Men series.

Some of you guys are very talented, so I'll ask for free (I hope) advice from time to time.
12Y
Aug 19, 2007 11:20 AM
Thank you! :o) Sorry to derail the topic.
12Y
Aug 17, 2007 11:51 AM
They're sold out, and very difficult for us to obtain, even as an OPD.
12Y
Aug 17, 2007 11:13 AM
Sorry to be away so long. First, we had our 2nd baby :o) Second, we launched a new website (can't reveal here, due to non-commercial nature of o-review).

I won't get into any opinions, so I'll just answer technical stuff. Impact protection & 100% UV protection, yes, they are polycarbonate lenses, so same ANSI Z87.1 standard applies. This is true up to today. If we ever offer CR-39 Polarized lenses (higher AB value than almost all non-glass lens) in the future, we will have a disclaimer that they do not have the same impact protection as the original.

On the Twenty (or any O Matter frame) you just pop it out toward the front. Lens with such level of impact protection, no need to worry about breaking.

Oakley lens -> best eye protection on the planet = not true. NXT used in some recent Rudy Project lenses have superior impact protection and has lifetime guarantee. Even so, I wouldn't claim it as best in the world, there's always something better out there. We won't ever make Rudy Project custom lens, as lifetime guarantee would make us go hungry.

Liquid Metal, very dark, almost uncomfortably dark. New variations developed are much lighter, BUT they don't have the same look. There's always a tradeoff I guess...

We have cut genuine Oakley lens for several hard to find or non-existent items (that's how we got started). Due to lens size challenges, selection is very limited, and for some reason, even at similar prices, they just don't sell well. Even so, we do continue to come up with items with the highest requests, like the Splice Emerald and a few Ruby's now that Ruby is available in MD.

Now my turn to ask. Been meeting with couple of budding directors to feature some eyewear in their short clips and movies. So, if YOU were a movie director, what Oakley would you show off in your movie??? (no, you won't get credit for anything and please, no x-metal anything with Ruby)

12Y
Aug 17, 2007 10:21 AM
G30 Titanium for vision (G30 contrast but more practical for everyday use). +Red for looks.

Good to be back. We just had another baby, so it's busy busy busy...
12Y
Jul 18, 2007 10:36 AM
Ok, finally got around to measuring Nanowires. Here are the results along with Why 8.2:

1.0 W 61mm x H 33mm
2.0 W 62mm x H 29mm
3.0 W 151mm x H 43mm
8.2 W 61mm x H 30mm

I used a flexible ruler to wrap around the lens for the measurements, so if you use a straight edge, measurements are different. 2.0 is closest to 8.2 but slightly different shape. I noticed 8.2 has a sharper outer lower corner.

Unlike other flexible metal frames, Nanowire's bridge does not flex. Only the temples flex. One nice feature is the backside anti-reflective coating on all of the lenses. :o)

12Y
Jul 18, 2007 10:08 AM
Since we usually don't sell frames with our lenses and x-metal frames do have size variations, we ship almost all of our x-metal lenses with a small piece of double stick foam piece. Should you find the lens loose, you just need to cut a very thin slice of the double stick foam and place it in the orbital track.
12Y
Jul 15, 2007 5:47 PM
We don't have a Dartboard L, but I can measure others. Do you just need the width in mm's?

Don't hold me to this, as I do have o-review blocked at work (so we can acutally get work done) and I've been extremely busy working on our latest project.

12Y
Jul 15, 2007 5:26 PM
No wonder those Ti Whiskers never showed up...

We have all of the Nanowires in stock, and the 2.0 lens is not exactly like Why 8.2 lens.

Where's the new X-Metal???
12Y
Jul 15, 2007 5:08 PM
Yeah, I would just leave it. We've seen lots of Juliets with lenses so loose, it rattles as you shake the frame, so yours isn't too bad.
12Y
Jul 15, 2007 4:51 PM
Thanks Ollie! That's one nice logo on that package (thanks again Phil) :o)

I think we'll be doing another logo contest soon (for another site). We're thinking maybe a Juliet Plasma Emerald as the prize, but not 100% decided yet.

Hans, nice SQ2. Looks like your camera does what mine does. It makes Electric Purple look blue. I wonder why digital cameras have a though time reproducing the purple?

12Y
Jul 5, 2007 5:41 AM
Very nice~ I admire your guts. Really curious how the Penny will turn out.
12Y
Jun 28, 2007 8:14 PM
Very nice Josh!!! Actually, that one is one-of-a-kind prototype. It has Hyper Green type mirror, but it's based on a bronze tint. Other Hyper Green are grey based tint, and with the mirror, it becomes purple/grey similar to Emerald.

Yeah, I'm just too lazy and not skilled enough to take good pictures. :o) It helps me to automatically under-promise, over-deliver, hehe.

12Y
Jun 25, 2007 3:54 AM
Holy Smokes~~ U been busy lately Josh? Those r cool~
12Y
Jun 24, 2007 3:07 AM
Amen! Even tho I don't know JJ personally, I do believe he deserves respect from most of us. If there was no JJ, then there wouldn't be o-review and our passion for the O.

I agree with some others about N ike. N ike is made by Marchon (opinion: thumbs way down) and now that their patent on Flexon expired (hence the birth of Nanowires) I would rather Luxottica or Safilo take Oakley than Marchon any day. Of course, no sale of Oakley is ideal, but I don't have OO shares, so my opinion is meaningless there.

View All 92 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2020 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2020 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2020 by their owners...or Rick.