oogie: paul mcj
Seattle, WA
Joined
December 18th, 2004 - 13 years ago (16,297 logins)Last Login20 minutes ago
First Oakley purchase in July 1991 (Blade). Been going pretty strong since then. Thought I was a big Oakley stud until I found this place. Collection doubles in first year, doubles again shortly thereafter - and the addiction is complete. I like Oakley, like a few others here.

Can't say enough great things about o-review and my respect and mutual support for the members here. Some of the greatest 'pay it forwards' are done right here, among friends.

Froggie microbag

Stick Farm 2010

stpl eyeshade

eyeshades

razorblade

stpl razorblade

Eyewear
179

Watches
8

Footwear
29

Apparel
49

Accessories
182

Collection
447
3D
Jan 13, 2018 6:43 AM
3 weeks into this whole Spyderco thing...
2W
Jan 2, 2018 10:39 PM
Looks great, Ben. Which model is that? I must admit, although my interest is peaked, my practical need and application of knives is a major shortfall. My job certainly doesn't demand it, not much of an outdoorsman, and the clips are bit lost on me since they seem geared towards jeans (maybe cargo pants); and I'm either wearing slacks at work or shorts at home. So all the wonderful different blade steels and handle materials that have me intrigued, are all put to the rigorous test of keeping up with amazon packages for the most part.

All that to just convey I'm a complete knife wimp, and I think I'm finding a 3" blade is likely the longest I'll ever need or feel comfortable with (particularly living in relatively suburban liberal Seattle area). But I am smitten enough to already have 3 Spyderco blades, with a few more on order or justifying adding to cart.
2W
Jan 2, 2018 5:54 AM
Funny to have this Knives thread pop up. For the holidays, I decided to gift all the men in my family a decent EDC knife, and ended up discovering Spyderco as a brand. The past few weeks, I’ve found myself falling down the Spyderco rabbit hole and creating the need for a few myself.
1M
Dec 16, 2017 9:02 PM
Crossrange has been one of those releases that I wasn’t all that excited about, but was surprised with how much I enjoy them. The removable arms can be fun, but if I’m being honest with myself, I’ll probably never swap them. But it makes for a fun hinge movement as it snaps into place. The side shield is definitely a fun add-on. And the options to find them on the cheap on ebay sure helps as well.
1M
Dec 1, 2017 5:20 PM
Congrats on the Desolve Fuel Cells. I've really liked the Desolve camo pairs they've released, having a hard time not buying as they release another style with the colorway.
3M
Oct 13, 2017 10:16 PM
A truly amazing M-Frame, congrats and thanks for sharing the pic.

I hope we haven't cracked the frame with talking about it too much. ;)
8M
May 10, 2017 5:37 AM
Yeah, not sure why I might have fallen in the first group mailed out, but quite possibly the green wasn't as popular as other colors moved me along. Initial impressons are positive. It has some good weight for its little size. It's still farily small, which has me surprised with how small the V1 must be! I like the movement so far, pretty smooth and with a satisfying click on pushing it back in.
8M
May 10, 2017 1:44 AM
I fell for the latest Chris Bathgate fidget:



8M
May 5, 2017 6:30 PM
Yeah, the Double Edge does have those small holes indicating it can have interchangeable icons (like the Turbine line). Seems like a number of models are going that way recently. Though I can't say I've seen a supply of accessory icons being sold to entice me to be swapping.
8M
May 5, 2017 1:40 AM
Recently snagged a pair of the Double Edge in Matte Tort / Prizm Tungsten Polar. Overall pretty happy with the pair. The Double Edge is somewhat like a EyePatch (though lenses not as tall), or possibly like a squared off Hijinx in fit and sizing. The Prizm Tungsten polarized lens was of interest, as I hadn't much chance to check it out in stores before ordering. So far the lens is something I'm really happy with. The contrast is great, and seems to highlight the greens most of all. The result, at least in the Pacific Northwest, is that all the grass/trees really pop. Only complaint from me is that I really wish it had stronger reflection/mirror behavior - more iridium people!

Also got 2 Trillbe. Cheap off ebay, so low cost of entry. Still look completely stupid in them.

8M
May 4, 2017 4:04 AM
My 2 cents, coming from someone without a prescription (though I have a pair fo Marshal at the ready!) ... take this with the appropriate sized grain of salt.

I am a huge fan of the hollowpoint hinge. I just love the movement and sturdiness of the hinge. I haven't heard of any failures or quality issues relating to to a hp hinge. I'd love to hear to scoop, but I just can't imagine why the hp hinge didn't end up taking over the wires line after the release of the tin cup/tin can.

I perosonally haven't heard of any issues with the carbon fiber earstems of the tin cup/tincan, but do seem to recall some issues on some of the other previous releases using cf earstems - most commonly an issue with failures at the pins where the cf is connected to the omatter frame body.

I think the Ti/Carbon tin cup rx you already mentioned would be a leading suggestion from me as well. Some other options that catch my eye, and likely just depend on your style preferences are the Hollowpoint or Metal Plate.

Great to see you on the forums ... and hope you have fun picking a new rx frame. After 10 years, I'd sure be excited at the opportunity!
8M
Apr 25, 2017 10:16 PM
Oddly enough, a recent release guide has +Red at 17% and +Red polar at 19%. Confusing in that the +Red doesn't match the database, and that the polarized version is 2% greater (instead of less than).

I rest easy that Oakley finds such miniscule details to drive us mad.
9M
Apr 16, 2017 7:08 PM
Jeez, Kenny, really amazing setup. Hard enough to gather up such prize pieces, but doubly impressive to source the display cases and dedicated space to put it all together. Hope it brings you great enjoyment.
9M
Mar 31, 2017 6:58 PM
That last pic Brad provided really seems to show the hinge best, looks just like a basic metal hinge, not either of the new versions you posted, Oak. I'm just not sure how many wire frames that might have looked like that used that hinge. Most of the examples I looked up in the database have a more incorporated hinge.

I love a good "ID these glasses" question, as we are usually on point within seconds to help out. Between the challenging photos and description (for me, particularly the hinge and "Oakley" spelled out on the earstems instead of just the 'o' icon); I think it's telling we are still a bit stumped. If it was a standard release, I'm pretty sure we would have the answer by now. My personal 2 cents seem to lean towards an odd MPH prescription frame that I'm not familiar with; or considering the potential for it to be a fake/replica of some sort?? Not sure how reputable the malls in Bahrain are. But I will hold out hope we can nail it down for you.
9M
Mar 18, 2017 7:50 AM
Interesting and definitely pretty cool ... but probably not going to help sell any Prizm Tungsten. :)
10M
Mar 11, 2017 2:53 AM
Plus, Oakley customer service never seems to acknowledge cross-compatibility, even within the same product line.
10M
Mar 10, 2017 5:27 PM
I believe they do. I have one AF pair along with a few standard fit pairs, and have interchanged the lenses. I think with many of the sport frames, the AF is mostly just the larger nosebombs.
10M
Mar 7, 2017 6:00 PM
Whoa ... daaaaaang. Appears to even be some repeated strikes going on there? I'm sure the story behind it sounds completely justified. haha
10M
Mar 5, 2017 3:23 AM
Welcome!
10M
Mar 1, 2017 10:34 PM
Only took 3 months, but the Speed Jacket finally came in this week! Got the black polarized pair, but had also ordered the Deep H20 lenses for some lens options. The case that came with them is pretty nice, large with a nifty patch on the outside and a couple lens slits in the foam for an extra set.
The release seems in line with the SI gear - build for function and protective wear. As such, they are relatively narrow/snug fitting, presumably to be compatible with helmets/hats. Not uncomfortable, but fits close to the face and offers great range of vision. With the locking mechanism in the temples, one of the more noticeable features is the earstem hinge is moved further down than most styles.
11M
Feb 13, 2017 10:21 PM
Wondering if there was an QC issue with the Speed Jacket, or just some production issues keeping up with demand. I placed an order for one off the SI site around 11/24/16, and even then it was backordered with a 12/31 ship date. Looks like they have never come available again, and reflect a 3/4/17 ship date now. Hope it all works out in the next 3-4 weeks, as I already received the Deep H20 replacement lenses. :)
11M
Feb 3, 2017 5:52 PM
Chris' first slider @ $250 just seems like such a steal at this point. I shall be kicking myself for a while on not acting quickly to snag one.
1Y
Jan 14, 2017 1:59 AM
I've had a couple conversations with my Insurance over the years on this. Each time I walk away with nothing to do. The sunglass collection really didn't qualify for an official appraisal, as it wasn't considered 'fine art' or along those lines. Essentially, I was told each time that they would be covered under my existing homeowners coverage. Having pictures and lists like Dann mentioned would be key to show proof of ownership. But I imagine they would just use replacement value of same/like pairs to determine reimbursement.
1Y
Dec 23, 2016 7:50 PM
Love that candle-light hat! Merry Christmas.
1Y
Dec 21, 2016 9:11 PM
Worth the wait!
Liking the new icon and microbag themed for the water Prizm.
View All 3688 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2018 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2018 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2018 by their owners...or Rick.