oogie: paul mcj
Seattle, WA
Joined
December 18th, 2004 - 13 years ago (16,436 logins)Last Login3 hours ago
First Oakley purchase in July 1991 (Blade). Been going pretty strong since then. Thought I was a big Oakley stud until I found this place. Collection doubles in first year, doubles again shortly thereafter - and the addiction is complete. I like Oakley, like a few others here.

Can't say enough great things about o-review and my respect and mutual support for the members here. Some of the greatest 'pay it forwards' are done right here, among friends.

Froggie microbag

Stick Farm 2010

stpl eyeshade

eyeshades

razorblade

stpl razorblade

Eyewear
162

Watches
8

Footwear
29

Apparel
49

Accessories
182

Collection
430
3h
Today 7:36 PM
Was hoping to follow up on Dann's Harmony Fade Wind Jacket find at the Vault during F&F sale. Sadly, my local Vault didn't have any on hand. But still had a fun opportunity to check out some of the newer releases and colorways I hadn't yet had a chance to see in person.

Sadly, in the end, nothing to contribute to this thread. Wah!
5D
May 16, 2018 5:41 AM
The Spyderco collection nicely fits into a countertop display ... for now.

1W
May 12, 2018 2:04 AM
Congrats, Q. Woodland Camo + VR28 Black, along with the cool lens etching makes that a great Turbine combo.
1W
May 9, 2018 3:34 AM
9 years later, and still love the Jawbone and Split Jacket!
2W
May 2, 2018 3:56 AM

SI is still where it's at - Dann


Agreed, +1. +2 for Desolve Camo! Had a hard time holding back at the extra 10% off week.
1M
Apr 11, 2018 8:18 PM
Haha, not sure if "off to storage" was the desired response for most of us when considering the 'Where do you want your collection to go?' question.

It is amazing to see the displays lined up wall to wall, floor to ceiling!
1M
Apr 6, 2018 12:36 AM
I think I'll need some hands on experience to warm up to both styles. While I enjoy the Jawbreaker, I find most EV lens designs end up looking a bit wonky on me. Probably an issue of matching the curvature of my head?
1M
Mar 23, 2018 5:37 PM
Can't we just reference it as a women's frame and ignore it like the rest of the women's collection?
2M
Mar 19, 2018 8:08 PM
First reaction was "there was a hoodie?!?", but is sounding vaguely familiar now.

What a great event, though. It is always worth thinking back and acknowledging the effort that Oakley went through to organize and put on those few days for us. And the opportunity to gather and meet some online and new friends was priceless. I bet Rich is now fully capable of swapping his own Monster Dog lenses now. ;)

Despite the chatter to the contrary during the event, I think it is nearly safe to say that the great memories will have to last us.

2M
Mar 8, 2018 11:09 PM
Agreed, have enjoyed the Desolve camo releases! The Double Edge and Drop Point options are still teasing me to buy them.
2M
Mar 5, 2018 5:33 PM
Fun topic, interesting to see the concentration of some collections (even if not surprising for many). My list has changed dramatically since cycling through a few purges of the collection the past few years. Current leader is the Turbine at 6, and then lots of various styles with 4 or 5 pairs. At this pace, my wife's pairs will make up half the collection before I know it.
2M
Feb 27, 2018 3:34 AM
Would like to see Prizm React on a Radarlock.
3M
Feb 16, 2018 7:16 PM
Pretty sure I have one as well, but sadly have been using and abusing it as my towel after hockey games for years now.
4M
Jan 13, 2018 6:43 AM
3 weeks into this whole Spyderco thing...
4M
Jan 2, 2018 10:39 PM
Looks great, Ben. Which model is that? I must admit, although my interest is peaked, my practical need and application of knives is a major shortfall. My job certainly doesn't demand it, not much of an outdoorsman, and the clips are bit lost on me since they seem geared towards jeans (maybe cargo pants); and I'm either wearing slacks at work or shorts at home. So all the wonderful different blade steels and handle materials that have me intrigued, are all put to the rigorous test of keeping up with amazon packages for the most part.

All that to just convey I'm a complete knife wimp, and I think I'm finding a 3" blade is likely the longest I'll ever need or feel comfortable with (particularly living in relatively suburban liberal Seattle area). But I am smitten enough to already have 3 Spyderco blades, with a few more on order or justifying adding to cart.
4M
Jan 2, 2018 5:54 AM
Funny to have this Knives thread pop up. For the holidays, I decided to gift all the men in my family a decent EDC knife, and ended up discovering Spyderco as a brand. The past few weeks, I’ve found myself falling down the Spyderco rabbit hole and creating the need for a few myself.
5M
Dec 16, 2017 9:02 PM
Crossrange has been one of those releases that I wasn’t all that excited about, but was surprised with how much I enjoy them. The removable arms can be fun, but if I’m being honest with myself, I’ll probably never swap them. But it makes for a fun hinge movement as it snaps into place. The side shield is definitely a fun add-on. And the options to find them on the cheap on ebay sure helps as well.
5M
Dec 1, 2017 5:20 PM
Congrats on the Desolve Fuel Cells. I've really liked the Desolve camo pairs they've released, having a hard time not buying as they release another style with the colorway.
7M
Oct 13, 2017 10:16 PM
A truly amazing M-Frame, congrats and thanks for sharing the pic.

I hope we haven't cracked the frame with talking about it too much. ;)
1Y
May 10, 2017 5:37 AM
Yeah, not sure why I might have fallen in the first group mailed out, but quite possibly the green wasn't as popular as other colors moved me along. Initial impressons are positive. It has some good weight for its little size. It's still farily small, which has me surprised with how small the V1 must be! I like the movement so far, pretty smooth and with a satisfying click on pushing it back in.
1Y
May 10, 2017 1:44 AM
I fell for the latest Chris Bathgate fidget:



1Y
May 5, 2017 6:30 PM
Yeah, the Double Edge does have those small holes indicating it can have interchangeable icons (like the Turbine line). Seems like a number of models are going that way recently. Though I can't say I've seen a supply of accessory icons being sold to entice me to be swapping.
1Y
May 5, 2017 1:40 AM
Recently snagged a pair of the Double Edge in Matte Tort / Prizm Tungsten Polar. Overall pretty happy with the pair. The Double Edge is somewhat like a EyePatch (though lenses not as tall), or possibly like a squared off Hijinx in fit and sizing. The Prizm Tungsten polarized lens was of interest, as I hadn't much chance to check it out in stores before ordering. So far the lens is something I'm really happy with. The contrast is great, and seems to highlight the greens most of all. The result, at least in the Pacific Northwest, is that all the grass/trees really pop. Only complaint from me is that I really wish it had stronger reflection/mirror behavior - more iridium people!

Also got 2 Trillbe. Cheap off ebay, so low cost of entry. Still look completely stupid in them.

1Y
May 4, 2017 4:04 AM
My 2 cents, coming from someone without a prescription (though I have a pair fo Marshal at the ready!) ... take this with the appropriate sized grain of salt.

I am a huge fan of the hollowpoint hinge. I just love the movement and sturdiness of the hinge. I haven't heard of any failures or quality issues relating to to a hp hinge. I'd love to hear to scoop, but I just can't imagine why the hp hinge didn't end up taking over the wires line after the release of the tin cup/tin can.

I perosonally haven't heard of any issues with the carbon fiber earstems of the tin cup/tincan, but do seem to recall some issues on some of the other previous releases using cf earstems - most commonly an issue with failures at the pins where the cf is connected to the omatter frame body.

I think the Ti/Carbon tin cup rx you already mentioned would be a leading suggestion from me as well. Some other options that catch my eye, and likely just depend on your style preferences are the Hollowpoint or Metal Plate.

Great to see you on the forums ... and hope you have fun picking a new rx frame. After 10 years, I'd sure be excited at the opportunity!
1Y
Apr 25, 2017 10:16 PM
Oddly enough, a recent release guide has +Red at 17% and +Red polar at 19%. Confusing in that the +Red doesn't match the database, and that the polarized version is 2% greater (instead of less than).

I rest easy that Oakley finds such miniscule details to drive us mad.
View All 3701 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2018 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2018 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2018 by their owners...or Rick.