neill: Neill
Texas
Joined
January 1st, 2017 - 1 years ago (611 logins)Last Login17 minutes ago
Found by
Google searches
M Frame Collector

Prizm Low Light

Thermonuclear Capsule Collection

Thermonuclear Capsule Collection

Thermonuclear Capsule Collection

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

OTT Matte Black/Ice

Magnesium M Frame - Tune Up or Spare Parts Available?

Eyewear
51

Watches
0

Footwear
0

Apparel
0

Accessories
12

Collection
66
2D
Apr 19, 2018 2:34 AM
Welcome. Thanks for sharing all of your knowledge as you have done already.
4D
Apr 17, 2018 3:35 AM
I just stumbled upon the light transmission info on Oakley.com while checking out the Flight Jacket options. Prizm Low Light is 75% transmission.


5D
Apr 16, 2018 5:25 AM
Congrats on scoring that triple. Be sure to post some pics once you fill it up!
1M
Mar 16, 2018 4:36 AM
I had to order a shirt despite the $65 price tag. Just couldn’t resist. I’ll have to refinance my home if I want to order the rest of the collection lol. The material feels great and is comfortable.




1M
Mar 5, 2018 3:02 AM
Many of us have seen the rattle snake skin Blade and M Frame, but the red version of it isn't seen very often. Here is Lee's (banarno) pair:

I bought the rattle snake version but i passed on the red one when both became available to me. One of my bigger regrets - Oak


That red Snake Skin with +red looks amazing! Those hand painted OTTs are sweet as well. Thanks Oak for sharing your knowledge and images on all of these pairs.
1M
Feb 28, 2018 4:46 AM
Oakley.com now has the Thermonuclear Protection Gear on the home page. Apparel is now up for sale on their site.

Warning: You might want to sit down before you look at the prices. $320 for the puffy jacket and $120-$130 for the sweatshirts. Yikes!
1M
Feb 25, 2018 10:20 PM
Sometimes buyers will claim it is fake as an excuse to return the item. They may have simply changed their mind. eBay will side with the buyer most of the time if there is a dispute. Unfortunately, it is going to be hard to educate buyers that are not serious collectors and explain to them what is real and what is not. Plus, hearing an explanation from the seller could be hard to believe. They need an unbiased opinion. Since they have nothing else to compare their purchase to, they may get nervous easily and want a refund. This is going to happen if you sell on eBay.
1M
Feb 21, 2018 12:41 AM
Welcome Dingo. Looks like you have a nice metal collection.
2M
Feb 16, 2018 3:19 PM
If you haven’t already done this, you can set up a saved search notification on eBay and you can get emails when/if they pop up. Patience is going to be your friend. Good luck in your search.
2M
Jan 30, 2018 3:42 AM
Thanks for being a guinea pig and sharing. I can't wait to try these out.
2M
Jan 27, 2018 11:36 PM
I'm always looking for mint/new Pro M Frames and lenses. Lenses must be perfect with no scratches.

Frames: Matte Black, Jet Black, Navy, Electric Blue, will also consider others.

Sweep Lenses: Black Iridium Polarized, VR50, +red, fire, ice

Earsock Kits: Any color except black

Looking for an extra Pro M Frame Shooting Array (Matte black frame with G26, VR50, Clear lenses)

M Frame display items, posters, catalogs, brochures, etc.


Also collecting Magnesium M Frames and lenses (prefer Hybrid S lenses), as well as vintage 1st/2nd Gen M Frames with Sweep, Old Hybrid, V, 67, Strip. I love splatter frames. An original Mumbo in box would be nice.

Hit me up if you think you may have something M Frame related.
2M
Jan 23, 2018 4:38 PM
Welcome, Wayne.
2M
Jan 23, 2018 3:29 AM
I love Magnesium M Frames. They are by far one of the coolest looking Oakley pairs, in my opinion. Unfortunately, they have many issues.. from the lenses cracking, the finish of the frame peeling, to the spring hinges losing their responsiveness. With all of those issues, I try to limit the amount I wear mine. The biggest issue I have is the spring hinges wearing over time. Once the spring hinge is worn, they no longer grip your head tightly.

I did email Oakley on 8/4/17:

I have 6 pairs of Magnesium M Frames. The spring hinges have lost their tightness over time. I was wondering if you sell replacement parts for this frame. Thank you.

This was their response:

Hello Neill,

Thank you for contacting us regarding your M Frames glasses. Is amazing that you still have this model of M Frame.

About your concern, we are bummed to report that this particular model of M Frames has been discontinued for quite some time now and replacement parts are no longer available. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

We do offer an upgrade program, which is designed to help you get into a newer Oakley model at a reduced cost. To begin, please complete a Service Request Form via the following link: http://digitalwarranty.luxottica.com/

Once your request has been processed, you will be contacted by our Service Department with more information on how to proceed.

Best regards,

Alexandra M.
OAKLEY, INC.
WWW.OAKLEY.COM


I have an old beater pair that I took apart to try to diagnose the issue. The metal spring sits inside of a plastic piece, which sits inside of the round hole of the frame. When the arm folds, it presses against the plastic. The spring forces the arm to open and close. Over time, sweat and debris clog this and it needs to be cleaned. The spring on this particular pair is bent.

I am looking for advice. Does anyone have a recommendation of what to use to lubricate the spring after cleaning out the debris? And would anyone know if there are any old stock replacement parts anywhere?








2M
Jan 23, 2018 3:19 AM
I went to clean a pair of my 2nd Gen Black/Clear Slash lenses today. The lenses do have the nose vents. As I usually do with all M Frames, I was going to remove the nose piece to make cleaning easier. I noticed that the nose piece looked like it was glued in. One side came out freely without any force at all but I noticed some dried glue around the lens.

Another 1st Gen pair I have appears to have some glue holding the nose piece in place as well.

Did Oakley glue these in place? I never even thought about that possibility until today.
2M
Jan 20, 2018 2:23 PM
Sweet collection. Looks like that case is at maximum capacity. I’m loving all those M Frames.
3M
Jan 20, 2018 4:28 AM
Warning sign.


3M
Jan 18, 2018 3:00 AM
Hi. Welcome.
3M
Jan 16, 2018 1:03 PM
That is a sweet Strip pair. That is not an easy combo to find! Congrats.
3M
Jan 15, 2018 9:29 PM
Welcome. Good luck finding your lenses. It is unfortunate that Oakley no longer sells X-Metal lenses. Stock up on them if you find some.
3M
Jan 13, 2018 1:39 PM
Those splatters are awesome! Very cool. They will definitely get people looking.
3M
Jan 13, 2018 2:18 AM
I just noticed two sellers on eBay with Radar EV Path Prizm Low Light. I haven’t been able to find any info on light transmission on these but I am looking forward to them being released. VR50 has been my favorite low light lens on my M Frames. It will be interesting to see this soon.
3M
Jan 11, 2018 4:43 AM
Thanks, Oak. Those are 2 of my favorite pairs. I see you also have an M Frame Snakeskin/Strip in your collection. I purchased my pair from Royal Lion. I was told they were originally created for an archery team and were owned by Mike Bell. Can you confirm or add any details about your pair?
3M
Jan 11, 2018 4:14 AM
So I’ve been a member here for over a year now. The total number of pairs has grown considerably since this thread was posted.

I figured I would share a few pics of my collection. If you can’t tell, I like M Frames.






3M
Jan 10, 2018 11:26 PM
Great resource. Thanks for sharing this helpful information. Zero 0.3 is one my favorite vintage Oakley pairs.
1Y
Feb 1, 2017 6:11 PM
I may be interested in M Frame display..
View All 32 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2018 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2018 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2018 by their owners...or Rick.