mensma: Menno Reitsma
Netherlands
Joined
February 7th, 2022 - 4 months ago (148 logins)Last Login6 hours ago
Hi there,

My name is Menno. I have been owning Oakley for about 20 years. It started with a simple M-Frame for cycling, then a Radar, then more Radars, Jury etc etc.

Now I bought a cabinet for all the glasses and thought why not register here and register the collection here.

Hope to talk to you soon!

Menno, The Netherlands

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Eyewear
64

Watches
0

Footwear
0

Apparel
0

Accessories
55

Collection
152
3D
Jun 23, 2022 9:43 AM

- M


Whats that (besides it's a Flak) and where to get it?
1W
Jun 14, 2022 11:42 AM
Thanks to both, that must be it! I immediately loved these when I saw them (much more than the muzm). I’ve got a weak spot for splatters. When the guy asked €75 including shipping it was a no brainer.

Now a new problem: I want the other three splatters too. That should be nice quest….

Thanks again!

Edit: are these mentioned twice in the database?
http://www.o-review.com/database_detail_model.php?ID=182 - mensma


They are, but it's mainly a product of the very early days of this site when I had little clue about most of Oakley's past releases. I've left the Splatters at the model level with the 4 colorways just for historical reasons, but then I found some tech sheets later which helped me flesh out their place with the Lens shapes of the time.

Great haul on some vintage items, by the way. Nice price too. Earlier in the 80s, there were the Rosa splatters on the Blade system, so this was a nod to that in the same way we're doing throwbacks in recent times.

Also of note, the High Intensity Yellow become just 'Yellow' a while back, while the version with a light Blue Iridium was known as H.I. Blue (and in turn later became HI Yellow just to make things thoroughly confusing.) - Dann


Thanks for the history lesson! I think I'm at the same point now where you were then. From the release of the Radar I'm pretty up to date, but there's a lot to learn about everything before that.
1W
Jun 13, 2022 1:40 PM


Splatter-duo - cmunozh


Okay, now I'm getting jealous, that splatter Celeste is high on my wantlist. Enjoy!
1W
Jun 13, 2022 7:43 AM

Small haul today - OakleyGarth


I've got no clue what some of these things are, but is looks awesome and very rare. Great stuff to fill the display case (room). Have fun with it!
2W
Jun 11, 2022 10:05 PM
Thanks to both, that must be it! I immediately loved these when I saw them (much more than the muzm). I’ve got a weak spot for splatters. When the guy asked €75 including shipping it was a no brainer.

Now a new problem: I want the other three splatters too. That should be nice quest….

Thanks again!

Edit: are these mentioned twice in the database?
http://www.o-review.com/database_detail_model.php?ID=182
2W
Jun 11, 2022 12:32 PM
By chance another type of Mumbo besides the MUZM. Brand new in box with two new lenses. As a beginner collector of mostly new frames I have no idea what I just bought. Who can give me some info of these, I can’t find them in the database.









2W
Jun 8, 2022 6:31 PM

3W
Jun 3, 2022 7:48 PM
It have been two good days.

Got some nice goodies from a local shop.


And a Hot Tub LX in the never officially released colour Blackout.



And ar another address: never used OTT




And because I bought a lot I got this one for free, problem is, I can only find it with grey lenses in the database, this one has got violet iridium lenses if I’m not mistaken. Is it a custom?:

4W
May 29, 2022 11:33 AM
Haha, so that’s the problem. Maybe something with cookies then. When I want to add pictures to the forum there’s no problem, the drop files box is there. When adding glasses to the database I don’t have the box to drop files like here and in MicahS YouTube tutorial. Not in my iPad, iPhone or windows laptop.
4W
May 28, 2022 1:56 PM
I tried it again:
1. Put the picture in my gallery with this description: Leffingwell_ChrystalBlack_DeepWaterPolarized.Jpg
2. Then go to the glasses colourway, edit and put that description in the Image field.

Then no error but this:
http://www.o-review.com/database_detail_colorway.php?ID=12619&table_name=glasses

What did I do wrong. I'll try to set up a noob thread with questions like this after I figured it all out. I feel like such a fool.
4W
May 27, 2022 5:40 PM
this thread is perfect for me and for this question. Is the only way to upload a picture with new glasses in the database with a site like Imageshack? Pictures added to my gallery or forum pictures can’t be added in this field, I guess not since both generate errors?.
1M
May 23, 2022 6:35 AM
Update: they probably read o-review forums. I got a mail the return did succeed after all and the money is transferred.
1M
May 21, 2022 8:27 AM
Hi there,

Does anyone have some experience with the retuns process of Oakley? Very curious if this happens a lot or if I'm an exception. I'm very annoyed at the moment. Here's the story.

Some of you may have seen in the SubZero thread I was not happy with my Fingerprint SubZero. The frosting process made the glasses not look good (diagonal stripes). Besides that it had a stain that looked like some grease, but I couldn't get it off.

So I started up the returns which is a difficult process compared to a lot of other companies. First I found out the shipping is on me (whilst the quality control of Oakley was the problem). When I contacted them about this they did it for free, so far so good. Then I got a mail with few instructions and no labels to print for the package, some time later you get a seperate mail from customer service with the labels and better instructions. Not very handy, but I can live with that.

One of the instructions was: please let us know when the package arrives at our warehouse so we can speed up the returns process. Sounded to me the return process isn't well organized.

So I sent the package and a soon as it arrived at Oakley's warehouse I contacted customer service. I got a nice thanks back and they would speed up the returns proces.

This morning (3 days later) I received a mail which stated my return is returned to me. What?! The mail says:
"Unfortunately, we were unable to process the return you recently submitted and will return the product to you with further details within the package. Thank You!" Besided that: "You recently contacted us regarding a return with RA (Return Authorization) Number: .........Below you will find your Return Order Summary which outlines your request. Clearly write the RA number(s) on the outside of the original packaging.

I'm very annoyed with this whole process. I can start it all up again. Getting your money back already takes up to 20 business days and now that even doubled.

1M
May 12, 2022 4:11 PM


Thanks to @marcellus!
1M
May 12, 2022 4:07 PM
I believe those will be a standard release. Or at least not so limited. Think Eye Jacket Redux. - Dann

Looks like you're right, they are limited but Oakley doesn't show any numbers like with the Collectors Subzero. I ordered them at the local Oakley Icon Store, lets hope they don't screw it up.
1M
May 12, 2022 3:46 PM
No more product images on white? - Dann


Haha, I thought the same thing, the database gets ruined this way.
1M
May 10, 2022 7:14 PM
Looks just like this one on Vinted, I thought the same

https://www.vinted.nl/hombre/accesorios/mochilas-y-bolsos-246/1823942173-bag-oakley

Edit: bummer, wanted to buy it for the €25 and it’s gone.
1M
May 8, 2022 12:53 PM
It's because they aren't truly frosted like the older models, they are machined. They just ran a tool across the surface diagonally to create the look. - MicahS


Thanks for answering. I must say I don’t like the look of it, it affects the look of the glasses in general, some frosted parts look ugly, not only up close. I’m thinking about sending it back. I get how it happened now, I just don’t get how this passes quality control (although I heard more about this subject).
1M
May 7, 2022 12:57 PM
Looks like damages to me on my fingerprint subzero, or is it normal the frosting is a bit rough? I’m thinking about sending it back, but if more of you have experienced this maybe it’s normal and I’m to picky?



1M
May 6, 2022 12:00 AM
And now for the re:subzero. These aren’t limited right?
1M
Apr 27, 2022 3:00 PM
Vacation vibes


2M
Apr 14, 2022 8:06 PM
Looks good to me. The paint isn't always 100% perfect. Quality control isn't what it used to be. - Dann


I always thought the atomic orange wasn’t paint like the first retina models, but it was on the Jawbone? Anyway, thanks for the help, I’m reassured now with the purchase of this 13 year old glasses!
2M
Apr 14, 2022 4:25 PM
Pretty happy with this one, everything adds up that it’s authentic, but the paint job looks pretty sloppy. Is this normal? Anyone who can verify? Thanks!









2M
Apr 1, 2022 8:21 PM
Strange the link was working perfectly fine,, but made some screenshots:



2M
Apr 1, 2022 8:33 AM
Looks like the Sub Zero is already available for the US. https://www.sunglasshut.com/us/oakley/oo9098-888392583116
View All 29 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2022 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2022 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2022 by their owners...or Rick.