mensma: Menno Reitsma
Netherlands
Joined
February 7th, 2022 - 11 months ago (353 logins)Last Login10 hours ago
Hi there,

My name is Menno. I have been owning Oakley for about 20 years. It started with a simple M-Frame for cycling, then a Radar, then more Radars, Jury etc etc.

Now I bought a cabinet for all the glasses and thought why not register here and register the collection here.

Hope to talk to you soon!

Menno, The Netherlands

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Eyewear
87

Watches
0

Footwear
0

Apparel
0

Accessories
72

Collection
210
3M
Oct 17, 2022 9:46 AM
Are they replacements for the grass? - naifs


That’s what I thought, but it doesn’t fit.
3M
Oct 15, 2022 8:37 PM
Ok, I went shopping for a Castel X-silver and came back with one + this 4.0 cube. Looks great but there are some things I just don’t get:
1. Edit: stupid question
2. Edit: stupid question
3. There are 4 different “posters” delivered with the case (grass, road, trail and water) but they don’t fit anywhere. Do they belong to the display case? There’s adhesive on the back of these, so big stickers.
4. There’s some fake grass and a golfbal on the drawer on the top. But on the internet I see the 3 tier displays on this thing. Which one is right?
5. Does the fake grass belong here? Edit: looks like it belongs in another top case. https://youtu.be/5eu_HS68uJM

Thanks!














4M
Sep 20, 2022 6:37 PM
I bought these for a nice price, but I’m not sure what these are. It are these http://www.o-review.com/database_detail_colorway.php?ID=9236&table_name=glasses , but what does team colour mean?


4M
Sep 19, 2022 8:04 PM
Today Kato Cavendish white/prizm 24k SKU:OO9455M2449


Awesome! Do you know anything about the official releasedate?
4M
Sep 9, 2022 8:38 AM
Awesome Dann and MicahS, thanks for the help! Totally different world than all the newer stuff.
4M
Sep 7, 2022 2:09 PM
I wouldn't worry about being "Lazy". There was always a lot of variation out there related to x metals with different generations of the same models, frame finish variations. And with some much customization out there it just adds to that confusion if your new to it.

Id say your serial is actually JI017218 which would be consistent with an Ice/Plasma 1st Gen Juliet. If it were a second or third gen it would have an A or B as a suffix to the serial number. - MicahS


Thanks! Checked again, and its indeed JI017218. This is the knowledge in your head or is there also some kind of database with ranges of serial numbers?
4M
Sep 7, 2022 1:52 PM
Hi there,

I wasn't such a big fan of X Metals (more of sports and lifestyle modern Oakley from Radar era), but couldn't resist to buy a Juliet when I had the change for a nice price. €175, without box, without coin but with original Ice Iridium lens and two spare lenses in original box (Fire and Gold) and great overall condition.

Now I am wondering the about the following things:
1. There is a serial on the Juliet, but what does this say? My Juliet is J1017218.
2. I had a hard time finding which model I had since there's no SKU. Is it possible to check with the serial what model that is? My conclusion it's the Plasma with Ice Iridium.
3. Did every X Metal come with a coin?
4. Did every X Metal come with an X metal logo soft Vault?
5. There are two types of X Metal coins when looking on the internet. Which one is related to my Juliet, the old or the new one?

Please let me know if I'm too lazy, but it was hard to find some definitive answers on this questions.

Are there more things I need to know about X Metals?

I’m very afraid this buy will trigger wanting more X Metals.

Thanks!





5M
Sep 1, 2022 6:47 PM
It's genuine. I got one back in 2005/2006 or so. - Dann


Cool, so they’re kind of antique!
5M
Sep 1, 2022 12:24 PM
No idea if it’s genuine, but it looks so to me. A 92 cm Oakley logo for a very good price. Including inflatable hand .

5M
Aug 27, 2022 11:19 AM
€234,95 in The Netherlands. Not for sale yet, they only put it online









5M
Aug 27, 2022 11:17 AM
I saw Julian Alaphilllipe wear the Jawbreaker in La Vuelta
5M
Aug 15, 2022 4:09 PM
mensma
Just to let you know, that bag does not go with those glasses.
The bag is from a Maverick Viñales (MotoGP racer) pair and the glasses are a Team USA pair.
They look good together either way. Congrats on the pick up. - Batman1939


Well that’s a pity, still like them though. Thanks for the info, looked logic a star on the microbag with the stars on the glasses. €85 was still a good buy I think.
5M
Aug 13, 2022 4:53 PM
It’s been a while since some stuff is posted here, whilst I really like this topic. Here’s something I really like from my last purchases, never seen it before and a nice price. Who’s next?





6M
Jul 21, 2022 2:51 PM
Got no goggles, but this poster and frame was too cool not to buy. I guess it’s this one? http://www.o-review.com/database_detail_colorway.php?ID=195&table_name=nobuy


7M
Jun 23, 2022 9:43 AM

- M


Whats that (besides it's a Flak) and where to get it?
7M
Jun 14, 2022 11:42 AM
Thanks to both, that must be it! I immediately loved these when I saw them (much more than the muzm). I’ve got a weak spot for splatters. When the guy asked €75 including shipping it was a no brainer.

Now a new problem: I want the other three splatters too. That should be nice quest….

Thanks again!

Edit: are these mentioned twice in the database?
http://www.o-review.com/database_detail_model.php?ID=182 - mensma


They are, but it's mainly a product of the very early days of this site when I had little clue about most of Oakley's past releases. I've left the Splatters at the model level with the 4 colorways just for historical reasons, but then I found some tech sheets later which helped me flesh out their place with the Lens shapes of the time.

Great haul on some vintage items, by the way. Nice price too. Earlier in the 80s, there were the Rosa splatters on the Blade system, so this was a nod to that in the same way we're doing throwbacks in recent times.

Also of note, the High Intensity Yellow become just 'Yellow' a while back, while the version with a light Blue Iridium was known as H.I. Blue (and in turn later became HI Yellow just to make things thoroughly confusing.) - Dann


Thanks for the history lesson! I think I'm at the same point now where you were then. From the release of the Radar I'm pretty up to date, but there's a lot to learn about everything before that.
7M
Jun 13, 2022 1:40 PM


Splatter-duo - cmunozh


Okay, now I'm getting jealous, that splatter Celeste is high on my wantlist. Enjoy!
7M
Jun 13, 2022 7:43 AM

Small haul today - OakleyGarth


I've got no clue what some of these things are, but is looks awesome and very rare. Great stuff to fill the display case (room). Have fun with it!
7M
Jun 11, 2022 10:05 PM
Thanks to both, that must be it! I immediately loved these when I saw them (much more than the muzm). I’ve got a weak spot for splatters. When the guy asked €75 including shipping it was a no brainer.

Now a new problem: I want the other three splatters too. That should be nice quest….

Thanks again!

Edit: are these mentioned twice in the database?
http://www.o-review.com/database_detail_model.php?ID=182
7M
Jun 11, 2022 12:32 PM
By chance another type of Mumbo besides the MUZM. Brand new in box with two new lenses. As a beginner collector of mostly new frames I have no idea what I just bought. Who can give me some info of these, I can’t find them in the database.









7M
Jun 8, 2022 6:31 PM

8M
Jun 3, 2022 7:48 PM
It have been two good days.

Got some nice goodies from a local shop.


And a Hot Tub LX in the never officially released colour Blackout.



And ar another address: never used OTT




And because I bought a lot I got this one for free, problem is, I can only find it with grey lenses in the database, this one has got violet iridium lenses if I’m not mistaken. Is it a custom?:

8M
May 29, 2022 11:33 AM
Haha, so that’s the problem. Maybe something with cookies then. When I want to add pictures to the forum there’s no problem, the drop files box is there. When adding glasses to the database I don’t have the box to drop files like here and in MicahS YouTube tutorial. Not in my iPad, iPhone or windows laptop.
8M
May 28, 2022 1:56 PM
I tried it again:
1. Put the picture in my gallery with this description: Leffingwell_ChrystalBlack_DeepWaterPolarized.Jpg
2. Then go to the glasses colourway, edit and put that description in the Image field.

Then no error but this:
http://www.o-review.com/database_detail_colorway.php?ID=12619&table_name=glasses

What did I do wrong. I'll try to set up a noob thread with questions like this after I figured it all out. I feel like such a fool.
8M
May 27, 2022 5:40 PM
this thread is perfect for me and for this question. Is the only way to upload a picture with new glasses in the database with a site like Imageshack? Pictures added to my gallery or forum pictures can’t be added in this field, I guess not since both generate errors?.
View All 43 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2023 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2023 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2023 by their owners...or Rick.