ChrisFlynn: Chris Flynn
Joined
December 31st, 2009 - 7 years ago (248 logins)Last Login1 years ago

Eyewear
18

Watches
0

Footwear
0

Apparel
0

Accessories
0

Collection
117
6Y
May 17, 2011 2:07 AM
I agree with Oak. People rely on this site to help them authenticate unusual pieces and I think that having something like a sku ought to be a necessary condition for inclusion. Some kind of documentation.
6Y
Mar 7, 2011 3:22 AM
Beautiful. Worth the effort and that's a great pic.
7Y
Aug 10, 2010 2:17 AM
I don't know, they came in a matte clear (translucent, not the same thing as opaque) box that says MUMBO on it, from an Oakley dealer, in 1989 or 1990 (not in 1991), "Hybrid" sticker on the box, with a Blue Iridium lens and a Clear Frame. I don't know anyone who had heard of the name M-Frame at the time I bought them. I certainly hadn't. There was nothing in the display case that said M-Frame, everything was Mumbos, Blades, Razor Blades, Frogskins. I knew a guy with spatter paint Mumbos. I suspect Oakley made a lot more colorways of Mumbos than might be assumed here and simply began calling them M-Frames when they decided to rename them.
7Y
Aug 9, 2010 9:29 PM
Going back a few posts, Mumbo frames also came in Clear. I have a pair. Clear frame, Blue Iridium Hybrid lens. Clear box with sort of a matte finish, little blue "Hybrid" sticker on the box. Bought them new at a sporting goods store on Highway 111 in Palm Desert, California, I'm guessing in 1989. Or 1990. I still have them, but they're not exactly usable.
7Y
Aug 9, 2010 2:56 AM
I pretty much agree with Dann.

I think that the most collectible stuff usually turns out to be the glasses that were almost entirely bought to be used and had no perceived collectible value at the time of original purchase. That way, fewer were made (demand wasn't artificially boosted by collectors) and most of the glasses purchased were eventually bent, scratched, dented, chewed by dogs and no longer exist in good condition. So whatever survived in good shape should end up being considered pretty rare.

China - almost all of Asia outside of Japan - seems to be on the rise to great economic wealth and power and, if the brand really gains staying power in China, Korea, etc. then the sleeper collectibles in the existing Oakley oeuvre could be the early Asian Fit models. Early Japan exclusives could become very much in demand. Who knows.

Apart from that, early titanium versions of glasses that were also available in alloy could become quite sought-after. Early T-Wires, Early Titanium C-Wires. I could be wrong about this, but I don't think these models exist in large numbers at all. Titanium Crosshairs should do ok.

But then again, no one knows what the future holds. Least of all me. Dann's right. The collectible of the future is sitting right there on the shelf in front of us. Tomorrow, it'll be gone, and we won't miss it. Then, five years from now, we'll be like, "Why didn't I get one of those?"
7Y
Jul 3, 2010 5:12 AM
This has probably come up here in one thread or another but this seems like the right thread for my question. Has this happened to anyone here: you go to a Vault, buy a few pairs of glasses, and two of them turn out to have colorways that aren't in the O-Review catalogue? One of them seemed like a real oddball piece so, of course, I bought it.
7Y
Feb 28, 2010 3:09 AM
Hey, thanks for the welcomes. I've been re-energized by watching the Winter Olympics. Radars, Jawbones, the whole deal. Could prove to be tough on the wallet, especially if Foothill Ranch decides to make High Intensity Yellow more broadly available in the Custom program. Hint hint.
7Y
Jan 3, 2010 5:25 AM
Hi everyone, I'm Chris. I live in New York. The quick story is.... I bought my first pair of Blades in 1988 and over the years I just kept buying Oakleys. A couple of weeks ago I made my bi-annual pilgrimage to the Cabazon Vault, didn't find any classic pieces that really seemed all that interesting, so I got a pair of Ruby X Squareds. At the counter, I mentioned that this was probably my 70th, or 75th, or 80th, or who knows what pair of Oakleys. The gentleman behind the counter said, "You sound like one of those O-Review guys, ever go there?" I smiled and said, "Yeah, I go there all the time! I love it, I'm just like those guys." So he says to me, have you joined and posted comments?" I said no. He says, "Why not?" And I'm like, gee, I don't know.

Well, I'm thrilled to join up, I enjoy the site and I love what all of you guys have created here. I found the site a couple of years ago and it was like group therapy when I saw there were collectors like me.
View All 8 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2017 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2017 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2017 by their owners...or Rick.