artist-series: nicholas moffett
le mase
Joined
October 2nd, 2009 - 8 years ago (343 logins)Last Login1 years ago
I see dead people....

Great white inspired Hijinx. Still needs work but my dream

Eyewear
4

Watches
0

Footwear
0

Apparel
0

Accessories
0

Collection
5
5Y
Dec 27, 2011 6:27 PM
Ya, that is correct. For the record I do want to make it a point that there are a few rare crossovers items that should be considered as part of AS list. One is The London Police goggles..... IMO they fit into the category of "eyewear' so they do just barely scrap by as being part of the main-line AS. Clothing, scarves, and other miscellaneous Artist Series stuff only supports the main product line so I don't consider them as part of a "complete" collection.....but I do still collect them anyway.

More notably, in my opinion I believe that any eyewear that includes artwork from the original AS sunglasses or copies them should be considered part of the AS collection. Caia is an exclusion here as her signature designs don't reference her fine art endeavors that she is known for and reflected in the AS. There is an instance in which Oakley did do this and it is the only piece in my collection where similar AS artwork and sunglasses design made it to another piece in which it is claimed Signiture Series. I 100% include them in my AS collection as the two items look like they were developed together and of course they are no doubt from the same design pallet, artist, and mirror the work that the artist is know for. Forgive me if I am reluctant to say what it is. What I will say is that…… it is limited and becoming really hard to find, it’s not cheap, it is a pain in the ass to get…….. But, if you do look hard enough you will find a piece of eyewear looks just like another pair of glasses in the AS line up. Put them next to each other and the lines blurs even more. Very cool in my opinion....lol






6Y
Oct 15, 2011 3:41 AM
I cant believe they sold out that fast .... Son of a bitch.
6Y
Oct 8, 2011 7:30 AM
Jupiter Squared? More like Twitch 2.0.



lol, I think I am going to have to pick these up too. I wear the twitch's everyday. One of my favs



6Y
Oct 6, 2011 10:45 PM
Does any one know when the Holbrook Shaun White Limited FMJ Gold/24K Polarized are coming out....? I have been waiting forever.

I hope I did not mis a thread about this or something?
6Y
Oct 3, 2011 11:08 AM
Its got to be the ruby Juliets auction, Its always the ruby Juliets..lol
6Y
Oct 3, 2011 10:32 AM
I am a little bit disappointed in the comments that I am hearing in this tread. I think people just want the prices to be low because they love the product so much. Typical O Review : )

To be “frank”…. Some of u are in complete denial. Let me be a reminder that commodities are based on supply and demand, and demand is only going to go up. You can’t replace product lines that are completely “dead” and sunglasses are a perishable item…ie people use them. With the falling US market and emerging world economies, new collectors are being introduced every day, and they are unaware that people even collect. These massive numbers contrast what is being said on here and represent a large portion of buyers.

Another thing is that prices have NOT really change toooooo much since the beginning of the collectors market. Add in inflation, decreasing number of desired glasses , new consumers, and you get this thread. Oh, many collectors are not just on O-Review as well, I think this is being a little egocentric, especially since many collections confine themselves to a certain category that they find attractive.

Another point is that this is not comic books, baseball cards, or beanie babies, those thing went main stream. This is relatively small market that is based on expression. Can you really say that nobody would want to pay double for a mint pair of Mar Leather rap, keep in mind that these were very very expensive in the first place. My own opinion is that they should be worth 3-4 times their original value because of the reasons I stated above.

I collect artwork….Why? Because of rarity and beauty; you cannot deny the beauty that a collection brings to a fixture in your home. I believe if more people were aware of this the market would only grow Yes! there is a lot of room to grow.
Oh.... The economy sucks and people are still paying very expensive prices, imagine if people had more money to spend, but what do I know…. I am just a small collector.

Can I ask the person who started this thread what made them want to discuss unopened packages? Was it a ebay Auction? I think I might know....

6Y
Sep 2, 2011 12:55 AM
I want to remind people that it is simple supply and demand.Personally, I think they should be worth around 1400-1500 on average. The US dollar is becoming worthless so I have no doubt that its international money you are seeing spent.Our over seas friends are becoming more exposed to the American market exponentially. We have new collectors being born everyday. My opinion is that you will see buyers forking out big bucks to seal the deal on that last piece for their collection. I know I paid up the wazoo for my last purchase.

I feel like I should be throwing a party or something to celebrate completing my collection.....lol
6Y
Sep 1, 2011 8:29 AM
artist-series




You are a pimp....
6Y
Sep 1, 2011 6:50 AM
WOW! looks like people are really starting to go crazy over some of the rare artist series . Check out this auction for the DF1.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Oakley-David-Flores-Gascan-Brown-Display-Rare-/170687520628?pt=US_Sunglasses&hash=item27bdc4df74
6Y
Aug 16, 2011 8:55 AM
Finally!I got a pair of the hand made Petterson's. The new crown jewel of my artist series ONLY took 4 years for me to obtain. Seems appropriate for such a freaking awesome paIr of Oakleys

6Y
Jul 13, 2011 4:02 PM

• My opinion….

• Artist Series is a relative term for me as a collector and this is why?…… Many of the (AS) items seem to spill over into product lines that developed from obscurity in the beginning.

I bought the Chip Foose Gascans #68 as part of the “Artist Series” edition from the Oakley website and later they moved it to the signature series which became part of their Limited Edition eyewear.

I include Chip Foose in my (AS) collection 100% because they represent the split between concepts that Oakley was not resolute about creating. Other items I include are things like the London Police collector’s pack that moved the (AS) collection to clothing and snow goggles (I include these in my own collection so of course I had to include the T-shirts for Barras, Donwood, and c100 as well).

Then there are other items that are collectable outside the traditional product line…… These items include (AS) event opening cards for Flores, Todd Frances, and Art Chantry screened venue poster. Even more rare items include blue Flores with blue icon on left arm /no serial, Art Chantry with polished black frame, and Koziks with +Red Polarized lenses.

There are actual Artist series originals out there too, I have one and I display it with my collection, it’s on the wall with the glasses with cube and half cabinet. Andrew Petterson 1/50 Frogskins are on the fringe but fit the category of outside the traditional line for the Series. But, like the other items you need to draw a line at what you consider a complete collection and what fits outside the traditional product line.

Anything associated with the artist series is on my list and that includes those darn Andrew Petterson’s. It goes even further, I even know there is one item missing from list but I would rather not give it away because I just got it.




6Y
Mar 9, 2011 8:07 PM
16.50$ for the Toac Arctic Challenge sweatshirt.....unbelievable deal..... http://oakleyvault.com/product/toac-sword-fleece-hoodie/471192-001
6Y
Feb 11, 2011 2:31 AM
I called and and they said they just sold their last pair. looks like eBay...
6Y
Feb 10, 2011 3:56 AM
I just saw one sell on eBay but I was at an Oakley vault here in so cal that had one. I will give them a call and see if they still have it. It was a few weeks ago though. It was a good deal too but I didn't pick it up cause I have them already. I should have known to pick them up....
6Y
Feb 9, 2011 7:46 PM
Ya, I had a deal with bigfrogface for those very Pettersons you got. At the last minute I had to pay registration on my car so it fell through. You just cant fight it if its not meant to be. I have some good artist series stuff that I was lucky enough to get my hands on so I cant complain. Its all part of collecting! forehead slap.....!lol
6Y
Feb 9, 2011 1:58 PM
Those darn Pettersons.....! Err. They slip through my fingers everytime. the only thing left on my list
7Y
Oct 25, 2010 8:14 AM
I am looking for a pair of the 50 artist series Frogskins produced by Andrew Peterson. These ones were hand painted by the artist and are very rare.

This would complete an entire collection of the artist series that I have been collecting a long time so it would be awesome to find someone with a pair.

Thanks

Nick
View All 17 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2017 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2017 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2017 by their owners...or Rick.